We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton George Hotel
Ranked #20 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great location. It is within walking distance of the Capitol and the Smithsonian. We were in town to visit a few of the Smithsonian museums. Nice lobby. Good bar. The hotel is a little tired in appearance BUT the staff is AMAZING. They were very helpful. They gave us great information on everything from walking directions to a great place to grab lunch. The staff gets this hotel to 3.5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelinggirl104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you Westchester Penn for your amazing comments about the team at the George. When your travels bring you back to D.C. please make sure to let us know so I can personally look after your stay. Thanks again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,365
    545
    141
    33
    23
See reviews for
505
636
162
555
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you can make a list of the things that would make up your perfect DC getaway, that list becomes reality at the Hotel George. Hotel management is terrific, Michael is absolutely a STAR!!! The front door staff was extremely helpful and courteous, even lending us umbrellas during our rainly visit. Any request made to any staff member was met with immediate service.

What really sets this property apart is the staff. Every staff member we encountered during our stay was polite, friendly, and genuinely concerned with the needs of the guests. It is refreshing to find so many happy faces at every turn ready to please. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave you are treated like royalty.

There are nice touches like the modern artwork, George the Goldfish at the front desk, and great bathroom amenities and a nice assortment of mini-bar options. The gym facilities were perfect, they seem to have thought of everything, including clean ear phones, chilled towels, and they even had HULA HOOPS!

The restaurants were exceptional, great brunch menu. Terrific and unique dishes enhanced by fabulous service.

I highly recommend staying at this adorable boutique hotel.

Did I menion it is in a wonderful location, just a couple of blocks from Union Station?

Room Tip: Parking next door is more economical, great weekend rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you Jay for your kind words and recognizing Michael’s hard work and the rest of the team at the George. I am super proud and fortunate to have such an outstanding team to make our guest experience personal and memorable. I hope to have the opportunity to meet you in person when you return to D.C. Thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Yes, we stayed at the Hotel George again. It's our go to Hotel in Washington DC. This time it was for a special occasion, my birthday, and it did not disappoint. We love staying here because as one lovely guest from the UK said it is so personal and the staff so helpful. We arrived very early (before 11am) and had no problem checking in. Stayed in the suite and the bathroom alone was worth it. Room was large and comfortable. It was very relaxing and both nights we enjoyed the the wine hour in the Lobby. A nice touch which gave us a chance to relax after a full day of sightseeing and a chance to meet and speak to some of the other guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeK36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you Alice. Happy Birthday again and Thank you for sharing your special day with us at the George. Have a great summer and I hope to welcome you back before your next birthday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a perfect location for sightseeing. Less than a block from Union Station where you can catch any kind of public transportation.

Room was comfortable and nice. Loved the separate tub and shower. And very comfortable bed.

Booked last minute on hotwire and got a great rate.

If you have a car, park in Colonial ramp under building across the street for $20 a day, $11 on weekends. Much cheaper thsn hotels $45. Park and take public transportation or walk.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvanWink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience at the George. Our Price for parking includes valet services to get your car in and out as often as you like. I hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for two nights in May at the Hotel George and we loved this hotel! It was our first time at a Kimpton property and we were impressed. The location was perfect for sightseeing, the staff extremely helpful and friendly, and we got a great night sleep in the comfortable, quiet and very clean room. I look forward to returning to this hotel and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lastminutetraveler98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you Kentucky for your PERFECT review. We know that you have over 120 choices when travelling to D.C. and appreciate your business. Please let me know when your travels bring you back to our Nation’s Capitol so I may welcome you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Location wise this hotel is great for the station (1 minute walk) and the Capitol area; but that does mean a bit of a walk for the monuments - you can't have it both ways. Like some reviews say the air conditioning is on the noisy side but other than that we found the room to be great. It was large enough and was clean. View out of the window wasn't very attractive but wouldn't expect much in the middle of DC at the price we paid. The other bonus is the wine hour each evening, makes for a pleasant treat after a day sight seeing.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you Dean for your business and sharing you recent stay at the George.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

My friends and I came down and brought our daughters to enjoy the city. Good rooms with darling robes that the girls enjoyed. Great restaurant inside and everything is very close. George town is a 10 min cab ride away! Will stay there again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ashley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you Ashley for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#105 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton George Hotel

Property: Kimpton George Hotel
Address: 15 E Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton George Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, The Kimpton George Hotel stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. The Kimpton George Hotel, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill's business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing