We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in DC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton George Hotel
Ranked #23 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Hotel George is a great place to stay, especially if you have business on, or near , the Hill. It is a small to medium sized hotel with an excellent bistro and daily happy hour in the lobby. The rooms are large and well appointed with ample lighting. The internet is fast and reliable. The staff are outstanding and very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treeeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

General Manager, Chris Cannon: Treeeman, thank you so much for the shout-out in regards to our outstanding staff. Exceptional service is what we strive for here at The George so I am very happy to read that we accomplished our goal. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,184)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,161 - 1,167 of 2,184 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stay at Hotel George regularly and it is always great. Perfectly located near the capitol and easy to get to the subway. Staff here are always friendly and helpful. Restaurant is one of the best in DC serving outstanding french food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chajinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

General Manager, Chris Cannon: chanjinla, thank you for choosing The George as the best hotel in DC. We hope to create another perfect stay for you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I travelled to participate in a national collaborative retreat and was directed to the Hotel George as one of the lodging options as the location was very close to our meeting venue.
I had not previously stayed at a Kimpton Hotel and was pleasantly surprised by the attention to the information I completed on my "In-Touch Membership". Staff members were pleasant and with this being my first time in DC, helpful in providing me maps and information on the many attractions. I liked the boutique atmosphere and my room was in a quiet location, clean, spacious, and very comfortable.I enjoyed a breakfast meal in the Bis restaurant and excellent wine in the lounge as well as during the wine/beer hour in the lobby. Overall an excellent experience, highly recommended!

Room Tip: Recommend enrolling in the "In-touch" member program allows one to select room preferences...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

General Manager, Chris Cannon: Diane O, "pleasant/excellent/highly recommend"... reading these words in your post just made my day - thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Am surprised at all the rave reviews. Check in service efficient and pleasant. Hotel itself is in need of refurbishing. Hallways are really depressing and room (6th floor on E St side) felt dated; visible spots on room easy chair; no turn-down service; no extra pillows in room; pump bottle dispensers for soap, shampoo, etc., housekeeping for day didn't arrive until after 3:30 pm. None of these things alone are awful, but hotel certainly does not exude luxury.

Hotel restaurant, Bistro Bis is pretty highly rated. Again, surprised. Food average and also in need old a re-do: banquette seats had holes/cracks. Hotel says its independent, but it doesn't reflect we'll on hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCSCarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

General Manager, Chris Cannon: MCSCarmel, I was pleased to read that your experience at the front desk was pleasant. However, I do apologize for your less than stellar stay in regards to your feedback about the condition of the hotel. We have a full renovation scheduled for early next year so we hope to see you again to turn this experience around. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I travelled to participate in oral arguments at the Supreme Court. The location was superb--just one block from the train station and several blocks to Capital Hill and the Supreme Court.

As with most Kimpton Hotels, I was treated well as an in-touch member upon arrival. It is not inexpensive to stay there, but it is a beautiful boutique hotel with great ammenities. Wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for higher level/quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthamptonSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

General Manager, Chris Cannon: NorthhamptonSyd, we are very happy that you were able to experience our "wonderful staff" first hand. Please come back for some more exceptional service - thank you for your business!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at this boutique hotel in August 2012 after dropping off our daughter at UMD. The staff was very friendly and had the admosphere of being at home, but with a chic flare. It is in a great location near the Capitol and Union Station. We were only here two nights and got a great rate through priceline. Absolutely no complaints except we wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

General Manager, Chris Cannon: MaggieSpice, we never let our guests leave the hotel with an unresolved complaint...So you must come back for another flawless stay ;-) Thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We arrived by Armtrak at Union Station, just 5 minutes walking from Hotel George. After a very quick and friendly check-in to a room on the 4th floor we went to Capitol Hill, 7 minutes walking.
There is a metro station very close to the hotel.

Room was very spacious, impeccably clean and the beds very comfortable. There were pillows of various firmness. Lines were very good quality. The bathroom was large with great Gilchrist & Soames toiletries.

We had breakfast twice at Bistro Bis. The food was amazing but quite expensive. We recommend Union Station that has a wide range of delicious options with affordable prices.

There was a cooler containg water in the lobby and every afternoon happened a complimentary wine happy hour. If you sign up for In-Touch membership you get free wi-fi and additional amenities.

It was an enjoyable stay! Will definiteley return to the George next time we come to DC.

Room Tip: Sign-up for In-Touch membership to get free wi-fi and additional amenities.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

General Manager, Chris Cannon: Rosana F, Thank you so much for choosing The George for your recent stay in DC. We sincerely appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#18 of 142 in Washington DC
331 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#88 of 142 in Washington DC
206 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
3,200 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton George Hotel

Address: 15 E Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $165 - $571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton George Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, The Kimpton George Hotel stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. The Kimpton George Hotel, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill's business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing