We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helped make our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton George Hotel
Ranked #20 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Stamford, ct
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Helped make our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Just got back from four days in DC with my 13 yr. old son. While the room was nice, it was about what you would expect in a big city -- smallish, a bit worn T the edges, but clean & comfortable. The staff on the other hand are some of the best and nicest that I have ever encountered. Really made us feel comfortable & welcomed. My son was obsessed with biking thru the city, so that was a nice perk. The location is great too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesliedw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: Lesliedw, WOW!! - "the best and nicest staff that I have ever encountered"...Well, it doesn't get much better than that! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,365
    545
    141
    33
    23
See reviews for
505
636
162
555
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Have stayed at the hotel for the family event. Immaculate service. Special thanks to Michael Love, my mom is your biggest fan forever from now and on. Your charm, professionalism, knowledge of where to go and what to do, recommendation where to eat were precious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moscow101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you Moscow, Michael L is sporting a huge smile thanks to your feedback. He is one of many Rock Stars here at the George. Thank you for sharing your kind words and I hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

The George is close to Capitol Hill and very convenient for sightseeing at the mall for all the monuments and Smithsonian museums. The hotel is walking distance to union station for quick access to all parts of the city.

The vibe is modern and relaxed with a bit more of a business rather than a hip vibe, in a good way. Our room was spacious with a beautiful oversized bathroom with plush towels and lovely amenities. The room is designed well and the beds and pillows are SO comfy. The rooms are quiet and you can order up yoga mats which s a nice touch. Restaurant is pleasant and the staff were very friendly and helpful. A great plus: free bicycles which we used to ride from the hotel to visit the monuments. We were there for cherry blossom, so spectacular!

Rooms are reasonably priced, great value and a wonderful base for a visit to DC . I would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: We had a room with a very spacious at broom including a separate shower. Not sure if all are like th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avivina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you Avivina, We are totally excited that you had a Wonderful experience while staying with us. Glad you enjoyed our wellness program and took advantage of our free bicycles. See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Based on reviews our family stayed at the George during the Cherry Blossom Festival. Our room was immaculate and well stocked with toiletries and towels. I think the best part was our warm welcome by Eduardo, after reading many reviews mentioning him here on TripAdvisor it felt like meeting an old friend. You can't beat the location from Union Station, a quick two minute walk. Also just a few blocks from the Capital and most museums. The kids also enjoyed the lemon water in the lobby upon our return from sightseeing. We were so busy sightseeing that we forgot to take Eduardo up on the offer to have milk and cookies delivered to our room before bed, maybe next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you Melissa. Eduardo is one of our best and there are other shining stars here as well to ensure a great stay at the George. Please come back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I came for the APA conference and I had thought I already paid for my room and found out I had not. The staff helped me resolve this situation and also comped my parking. Even though I must have come across as an unseasoned traveler the staff was patient and helpful and they never spoke in a condescending manner. They also kept an eye on my things the last day of the conference. The room was great and I only wished I was there for a weekend with someone special. I will return to this hotel and I will suggest it to others. Isreal, Kiah and the Hotel manager who's name I forgot were all great. What was really great was the way they were able to accommodate others at the same time they were helping me. The other residents appeared to appreaciate the service as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you Thomas for sharing you feedback. I hope to be able to meet you in person when you return for your next visit to the George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
355 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

In August 2012, my wife and I stayed at the Hotel George and had such a wonderful experience that I wrote a review! A few months ago, in January, I found out that I would be returning to Washington D.C. and I attempted to make a reservation only to find out that they had no rooms available for my upcoming visit. I was disappointed and decided to call the front desk, instead of their reservations department and told them that I was a returning customer and I really wanted to stay there again. The front desk manager asked for a a few days to see what he could do and then later that week, emailed me that they had been able to make a reservation in my name. Shortly before leaving for Washington D.C., I called to inquire if parking was included, since that was the deal, when I stayed there in August. I was told that the price of valet parking was $55 a night. I was taken by surprise but realized that with the cherry blossoms in bloom, this was probably one of busiest times for tourism in Washington. The following day I called back and asked to speak to the manager. I decided that I would inquire if they could recommend a less expensive place to park my car. I explained I would be arriving at night, probably around 9 pm. and I didn't want to wander around looking for a parking lot. The Hostess, Kiah, was very kind and explained that there was a lot conveniently located across the street from the garage, but since it would be closed by the time I arrived, she would arrange for one of the doormen to watch the car and then park in there in the morning,. This way I would only pay the $20 parking fee and not the hotel's valet fee. I was incredibly impressed and grateful! Who ever heard of a hotel's staff going out of their way to help the guest save money, where they would not get any remuneration? When I arrived at the hotel Wednesday evening, Kiah was there to greet me and told me that she had arranged for the valet parking to be included in my reservation! I was astonished and very grateful and she assured me that it was within her rights as a host to provide any special services to her guests as she saw fit! Awaiting in my room was fresh fruit and toast and jam and an expensive bottle of water! My stay was exceptional and while I write a positive review last August, I felt that this was the most remarkable hotel experience of my life! I spoke to the hotel manager, Michael, who told me that the staff takes their jobs very seriously when it comes to keeping their guests satisfied. I was incredibly satisfied and would urge anyone who is heading to Washington to seriously consider staying at the George. It is right in the heart of the city only a block from Union Station. And while the rooms cost about $250 a night, I think that is the going rate for that area and certainly worth it given the services you'll receive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you Arthur, We appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful experience at the George. I hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great place to stay, perfect location right near Union Station and we got a good price through the Kimpton website. Room was modern, comfortable and a decent size, bathroom a little dated but good, staff were very polite.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#105 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton George Hotel

Property: Kimpton George Hotel
Address: 15 E Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton George Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, The Kimpton George Hotel stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. The Kimpton George Hotel, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill's business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing