We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Another stay at Hotel George is like my home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kimpton George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Kimpton George Hotel
Ranked #22 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Another stay at Hotel George is like my home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and convienent to meetings at federal buildings. The staff makes you feel so welcomed, expecially Johnny, Michael Love, Isreal, Edgar and Salama. Love the happy hour after a grueling day of walking the hill.
The rooms are nice and clean. The view isn't great, but for the proximity to office buildings it is just fine. We also had a meeting there that went very well with a nice continental breakfast. Appreciate the coffee pot in the room. So many other hotels have stopped providing coffee pots and for one who likes a cup of coffee before starting my day, it is appreciated.
The restaurant waiters and kitchen are slow, so be prepared. The restaurant manager was very helpful when we had to separate checks. Thanks.
I will certainly be back next year and look forward to seeing everyone again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jojostew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: jojostew, we are very happy to hear you've found your new home away from home in DC! Please come back for some more exceptional service and happy hour fun. Thank you for your kind feedback and business, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,343
    542
    137
    32
    23
See reviews for
497
629
162
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paoli, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

My second visit to this hotel. Nice unique boutique feel, clean, wonderful staff, nice touches all over the place. Hot chocolate in the afternoon, wine at 5, a goodie bag for the kids. Close to Union Station and not far from the mall. As other people have mentioned, the Bistro downstairs is a great place to people watch. You have a good chance at seeing many familiar faces from politics and TV news. One of my favorite hotels in any city.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank PennsyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: PennsyTravelers thank you for coming to stay with us again! We are very happy to see that you enjoyed the hot chocolate and children’s goodie bags! Thank you once again and we hope to provide you and your family many more outstanding visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We chose the Hotel George based on it's close proximity to Union Station and the reasonable price for a one night's stay. Knowing it was a bit if a gamble, we actually said on our short walk from the train station to the mystery hotel, "If it's really bad, we have other options!"
We arrived on a brutally cold afternoon and upon our taking our first steps through the front doors, we were greeted with such gracious warmth. From the ever smiling doorman to the wonderful guys behind the desk, we felt an immediate feeling of Welcome. The entire staff was warm, friendly and yet very professional but the stand out for us was Edgardo. He was eager to make our stay, my last minute Birthday celebration trip, as enjoyable as possible. He is a valuable member if your Kimpton Hotel family team. We appreciate his kindness so very much.
We are planning another trip in the spring and look forward to another stay at Hotel George. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lhanchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: Lhanchin, what a wonderful review! Edgardo and the staff are very happy to see that they made your stay very special! Thank you for celebrating you birthday here with us! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forked River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our weekend at the george was great. Each time we have been there the experience has been terrific. It is very convenient to Union Station if you are coming in by train. The restaurant has excellent food and drinks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: HRA5, thank you for this terrific review! We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay here with us! We appreciate your business and look forward to your future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We spent one night at the George before leaving for NYC. I'm from DC, so I knew about other Kimpton properties in the area, but wasn't familiar with the George. I had heard good things, and the location across from Union Station was perfect. We had an early morning train the next day, and you can't beat that short walk - literally across the street! We did some sightseeing during our day in DC, and made it to the Lincoln Memorial right at dark...when it began to pour. Not being prepared, we walked all the way in the rain to the Metro to get back to the George. Needless to say, that complimentary glass of wine they offered when we arrived was very welcomed :) We had a nice spacious room, and the great hot shower was much appreciated too! We also had found a reasonable rate for the night. We'd definitely stay again if we were headed somewhere on the train.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TooChickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: TooChickens, thank you for the kind review! It was our pleasure welcoming you back to good ol’ DC! Thank you once again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I travel to DC primarily for business and always stay at the George. I was most recently there the week of inauguration. I expected it to be a madhouse, but the staff at the George had everything totally under control, and went out of their way to make me feel like a VIP. I always stay at Kimpton hotels for the free Wi-Fi and other Kimpton member perks (like wine receptions) but the George has a lot more than just that going for it. Adjacent to a great restaurant (Bistro Bis), walking distance to the Capitol, and very close to Union Station, you really can't go wrong. But what really sets it apart is the staff, who are always helpful and friendly and go out of their way to make you feel like a truly valuable guest in their hotel. It starts with Solomon, the doorman, who is awesome, and goes all the way to the front desk staff, the restaurant staff, and the whole service team. This hotel is run by a truly top notch team.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: Victoria B, thank you for this wonderful review! Solomon and the front desk staff are wildly excited to see that you had such a great time during the inauguration. Thank you for choosing to stay with us during that historic moment. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUSTON, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

The restaurant is one of the best in DC and you see some celebrities there. My wife enjoyed the wine reception but I was working. Very convenient location for downtown work. Room was moderate size but needed a new carpet as I understand they will do this year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cguffey98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: cguffey98, thank you for this great review! Glad your wife enjoyed our wonderful wine reception! Sorry you missed out on the experience, but this just means you will have to stay with us again! We are looking forward to your future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#15 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,061 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#94 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimpton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimpton George Hotel

Property: The Kimpton George Hotel
Address: 15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kimpton George Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, The Kimpton George Hotel stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. The Kimpton George Hotel, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill's business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Kimpton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing