We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trrip to DC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton George Hotel
Ranked #21 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 14, 2013

On the spur of the moment my wife and I decided to visit my daughter and son-in-law in DC. As we have a new poodle puppy "The Biscuit" we needed a place to stay that allows dogs. The George could not have been a nicer choice. The room was great, the staff friendly and accomodating especially the concierge Edgardo. The food was wonderful in their restaurant the "Bistro Biz". I could not recommend this hotel more highly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank howard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

General Manager, Chris Cannon: howard s, thank you for this great review! We are always looking forward to welcoming new guests, especially their four-legged friends! Edgardo and the staff are thrilled to see that you have enjoyed your stay here with us! We look forward to seeing you and “The Biscuit” soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,293 - 1,299 of 2,225 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have stayed at many Kimpton hotels throughout America and this hotel was a let down. The staff at the counter were not very helpful or polite on both checkin and checkout.

The rooms were quite old, and needed some work. The windows looked onto other parts of the building, making it very depressing. The air-conditioning made a rattling sound, and our parts of our air-conditionier were falling out of the wall. We asked staff about this when we checked in - to see if there was another room available - and we were advised that 'all' rooms were in fact like this.

Although this hotel is reasonably cheap, I would prefer to pay a bit more and stay in a better location with a better room and service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

General Manager, Chris Cannon: Jane F, I sincerely apologize that you experienced a less than stellar stay here at Hotel George. We strive for excellence and what you have experienced is not how Hotel George operates. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me directly on your next trip to Hotel George, and I can assure you of a flawless stay. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and selected this hotel due to its vicinity to Union Station and an early train departure. The hotel is of a great standard and offered great size rooms and all the amenities you could require (even a fish bowl if you so wish).
My only downer is that on a Sunday evening it was very difficult to find somewhere to eat- Union Station was it and some Irish Pubs around the corner. Walking around didn't feel too safe especially as there was a health centre about 2 blocks down with a lot of people spilling out into the streets. Don't let that stop you though as its only about $7 incl tip by taxi to get to a bustling area. Also you have to pay for wifi (pet peeve) unless you sign up for the Kimpton club.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Thelma_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

General Manager, Chris Cannon: Thelma_oz, thank you for this lovely review! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. Next time you come visit, see us at the front desk as we have wonderful restaurant recommendations. Thank you once again and we look forward to your future stay here with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

A friend who lives in the area recommened Hotel Monaco (another Kimpton Hotel) but we decied on The George due to proximity to Union Station. The George is a modern boutique hotel that had all the amenities AND many more. All room furnishings were new, clean and well maintained. When we checked in we had to make arrangements to store frozen foods that we brought with us from CA, and the front desk staff gladly took care of this for us. We were able to check-in a bit early (much appreciated after a red-eye flight!). All our small requests were accomadated with a smile. Hotel was very near Capitol, 1 block from Union Station, and within walking to most NW attractions. Getting taxis and airport shuttles was easy. Loaner bikes available in lobby. Environmentally conscious hotel. We had a Great Stay, we felt as though we were at home! The Bistro Restaurant was an added bonus, but we sampled many of the other local food offerings. Of you like higher-end, un pretentious hotels, then this is a place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

General Manager, Chris Cannon: Ed P, thank you very much for this upscale review! We are very happy to see that we provided a home away from home! This is what we like to accomplish! Thank you once again and we look forward to providing many exceptional stays for you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This Euro boutique hotel is conveniently located near the Capitol and Union Station. It is a great Kimpton. Clean, friendly staff, great rates, Nice rooms and decent room service food.
If you have business on the Hill, this is the place to stay. Also nice wine bar in the lobby the weeknight I was there...

Room Tip: Choose side of hotel away from E Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCP60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

General Manager, Chris Cannon: SCP60745, thank you for this great review! Ah yes, the manager hosted wine reception for our guests of the hotel is one of our biggest treats!! Thank you for your business and we look forward to your future stay here with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed with my teen son for a sight-seeing trip in DC. We stayed 5 nights. Even before we got there, I had asked questions to Edguardo, a guest services professional, who was kind in answering all questions and very welcoming and professional when we arrived. They have nice amenities if you sign up for their free loyalty program with free Wifi, some snacks and wine reception in the evening among other things. Edguardo went beyond and wrote personalized welcoming notes to make us feel at home and was able to get a mini-frig which I had requested since we stayed so long and were very tired at the end of our days. It was my first time in DC and each staff member made you feel like they cared about you and wanted to help. It was very close to walk to union station to use the metro or busses and a few blocks to walk to the capitol and the mall. Easy to stay without a car. The price was reasonable for where you were and being a nice boutique hotel. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

General Manager, Chris Cannon: Teresa820, thank you for letting us be your first 5 star review!! I have shared your review with my staff, especially with Edguardo and they are thrilled to have made your stay. Thank you once again we hope to see you for many future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel George over Christmas vacation for four nights based on a TripAdvisor review. We made rather last minute reservations, so because we were traveling with two teenage girls, opted to get two adjoining rooms.

The location of the hotel is very good -- on Capitol Hill, not far from Union Station and the Metro. If you come by car, you don't have a lot of parking options except to use their valet. This goes for about $40 per night (!!!), bu because we have a Prius Hybrid, we got a 50% discount on the parking (!!!) which made he cost somewhat more reasonable.

Except for inside Union Station, there aren't a lot of restaurants around that aren't part of hotels. We didn't eat at the hotel, so can't vouch for the food. The bellman/valet was very friendly and very helpful and one day we came back soaking from the pouring rain outside and he offered me a towel to dry my hair -- very hospitable indeed. Every time we saw him, he always greeted us with a cheerful hello. The desk staff was also just as friendly and helpful. They're clearly very customer-oriented.

The lobby is nice and smartly decorated, but small -- typical for a boutique hotel. They had free hot chocolate which was very good and perfect timing. There is a lounge off to the other side. We were never quite sure if it was a bar or a restaurant or both, so we never used it.

The rooms are reasonable, though a bit on the small side. Our windows looked directly across from others in another part of the hotel, so we needed to draw the shades whenever we were in the room. Not terribly inconvenient, but somewhat strange. The beds were super comfortable and the bathrooms adequate and clean, although some might see some of the wearing away in the grout. Not terribly off-putting, but you may not notice. If you sign up for the Kimpton in-Touch (?) program when you make the reservation, you get a $10 voucher for items in the room bar, which we didn't use anyway. You also get free internet when you sign up and can connect more than one device at a time (we had five devices and all were able to connect with the same account), so it's worthwhile.

Our daughters' room had an unused pull-down Murphy bed that didn't seem properly secured to the wall. This made them a bit nervous that it might fall down during the night (but it didn't nevertheless).

All-in-all, we would definitely stay here again. We paid $99 per room over the Christmas vacation week, so we felt we got a good deal. I also don't always spend the time writing reviews for hotels that don't stand out, good or bad. Because I thought the Hotel George was a great find, I'm taking the time. Thanks!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mishuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

General Manager, Chris Cannon: mishuma, thank you for taking the time for writing a review for our hotel!! We are soo happy to see that you and your family had a great time during your Christmas vacation. Thank you once again and we look forward to providing you and your family another “stand out” stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,430 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
1,757 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
413 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#95 of 141 in Washington DC
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton George Hotel

Address: 15 E Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-1501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $196 - $529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton George Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, The Kimpton George Hotel stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. The Kimpton George Hotel, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill's business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing