We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, efficient yet warm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton George Hotel
Ranked #20 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Napa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service, efficient yet warm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

The welcome at the hotel is warm yet efficient. For business travel it is the perfect combination. Kimpton does a great job of recognizing individual preferences without overdoing it. Hotel George is a lovely hotel and the staff make it a great experience. The location makes meetings at the Capitol easy access if you are up for a walk, and the added bonus of Bistro Bis providing room service makes the stay quite civilized.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Athanacea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: Athanacea, what an excellent review! Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience at the Hotel George! Please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,365
    545
    141
    33
    23
See reviews for
505
636
162
555
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

It had been several months since I stayed at the Hotel George, but the staff there welcomed me and went out of their way to make me feel comfortable. I travel to DC monthly and have stayed at many different hotels, but the George is the one that seems like my "home away from home". The wine hour at 5pm is a nice way to relax after a day of traveling. The rooms are nice and the location, near Union Station and the US Capitol, is ideal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: LFan77, thank you for this great review!! The Wine Hour is one of my favorite perks here at the George! We look forward to your future visit at your “home away from home”!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

I can not begin to say enough about the George Hotel. The staff is beyond friendly and helpful, from making my reservation to tonight, and unfortunately have to leave tomorrow. Johnny, Michael, Edgar, Jasmin and I know I'm forgetting others, so forgive me, but I would adopt any one of them. Kind, courteous, professional and all of them go out of their way to make sure you have the best stay possible. Possibly, one of the finer hotel experiences, ever. I would only stay here on any return trips to DC. By the way, the rooms were wonderfully spacious and so comfortable, sometimes it was hard to get up and get going off the most comfortable beds. Do yourself a favor and book a room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: nikzan, thank you for this perfect review!! Having the greatest staff in the city does have its advantages. Unfortunately, they are not up for adoption… well maybe Johnny. Thank you once again for staying with us, and we are looking forward to your future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

I've been coming to DC for business for three consecutive years and have stayed at the George every time. For the past 2 years, my wife and now-22-month-old son have come along as well. The Hotel George is absolutely perfect for both business - spacious rooms, nicely appointed, excellent location, evening wine reception, helpful staff, etc; and family - friendly staff, clearly willingness to do whatever it takes to make our staff perfect, close to the Union Station metro, evening milk and cookies for my son, even child-sized cozy robes! After our most recent stay 2 weeks ago, I need to specifically call out two staff for their remarkable commitment to making us feel comfortable and welcome -- Johnny and Edgardo. They were perfect, hospitable, helpful, and always gracious. Business or not, we'll be back!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDaveKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: DrDaveKC, thank you for this awesome review! Johnny and Edgardo are very happy to see they provided the perfect stay for you and your family! Please come back and visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I were in Washington DC Nov 14-18, 2012 and stayed at the Hotel George. The staff was very friendly and efficient. This was our first trip to DC and the staff was great with answering our questions about the area. Our room was very nice and the service outstanding, when we are in the DC area again we will definately stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: Edward G, thank you for this 5-star review! We appreciate the wonderful experience you have shared! We look forward to your future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The room was clean and spacious with a relaxed feel. Staff were friendly and helpful but in no way intrusive. The hotel was in a great location - very convenient and near Union Station. It was also good value and I would definitely recommend joining the reward scheme in advance of booking for free internet. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsAIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: MrsAlrish, thank you for this great review! Of course, being a Kimpton InTouch member has many perks, especially the complimentary in-room internet. Thank you once again for the review, hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This modern boutique hotel is walking distance from Union Station and is centrally located. The staff here are very helpful and attentive to all needs. The rooms are comfortable with an excellent shower, but could be a bit larger. Add to this a great restaurant and comfortable lobby and it's easy to see why this hotel is a great stay.

Room Tip: The rooms in back face offices and compromise privacy, so get a room in the front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: Dennis M, thank you very much for sharing your experience! Thank you very much for your business and please visit us again for another great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#105 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton George Hotel

Property: Kimpton George Hotel
Address: 15 E Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton George Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, The Kimpton George Hotel stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. The Kimpton George Hotel, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill's business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing