We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel George: Dog Friendly!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kimpton George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kimpton George Hotel
Ranked #23 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Aiken, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel George: Dog Friendly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

The staff of Hotel George were extremely friendly and welcoming to myself and my dogs. The hotel allows any size, any number of dogs and no deposit. Sign the contract that says you understand the rules and you're good to go. The hotel is experiencing renovations and while the hallways are a bit shabby looking the rooms are nice and clean. Two bowls and a dog bed and dog treats awaited my three dogs when I got into the room and all the staff were very accomodating to us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: Meg F, thank you for the wonderful review! Of course being a pet-friendly hotel, we looove welcoming our four-legged friends!! Please come back and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,352
    544
    140
    33
    23
See reviews for
499
634
162
548
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is my new favorite place to stay while in D.C. I ended up staying here for 2 nights with my now finance, we got engaged over the weekend! Couldn't be more pleased with our visit. The staff was incredible, the room was very comfortable - and all for a great price! Highly highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank george k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: George k, Congratulations on your engagement!! Wishing you all the very best for the future and we hope it’s filled with lots of joy, happiness and many Kimpton visits! Once again, thank you and we are looking forward to your future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here for work several weeks ago. The people who work here are terrific. Had a long chat with several of the people working at the desk during a wine hour, and they were charming and personable. Remembered me by name the next few days, and made me feel like I was with friends and family. Johnny's smile and greetings made it a pleasure to "come home" from work. Fabulous restaurant next door - Bistro Bis. Lovely room. Great location within walking distance of Union Station. Would stay here all the time if I could get good enough room rates!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vh1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: vh1130, thank you for the fantastic review and the shout out to Mr Johnny! We are very happy to see that we were able to provide a “come home” experience! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I always stay at the George when I can. I like it so much that I pay the difference between it and the price my employer will cover when I can't get a special rate. The rooms are lovely, and if you join Kimpton's in touch program, you get free internet and a $10 credit for the minibar every time you come. The rooms fronting E street are the nicest. And the hotel restaurant - Bistro Bis - has lovely, if a bit pricey, breakfasts.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sofiastayshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: Sofiastayshome, all I can say is “WOW”. Thank you for not only giving us two great reviews, but also being our 500th “Excellent” reviewer!! We are thrilled to see that we were able to provide an excellent stay for you once again. Please, feel free to contact me directly at the Hotel for your upcoming stay(s). Hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

My first stay at George Kimpton hotel was on September 23-28, they are the perfect fit for me. My work takes me to DC once a month where I visit primes at various locations in DC area. George hotel is located just 5 minutes away from the Union Station where I take the metro to wherever I want to go. Hotel staffs are highly professional, courteous and they do care for customers. The rooms are pretty spiffy - all have high speed internet access, courteous wireless (and they don't charge for that!) and, the beds are brand new and simply heavenly. Bathrooms are shining clean. The hotel customers are decent and hotel environment is quiet and peaceful. All in all it is a great hotel with right price.
Whenever I travel to DC, there will be one hotel I call – Kimpton.

Abdalla Mohammed, Ph.D.
President, Ademi International LLC

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdalla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: Dr. Abdalla Mohammed, thank you for the perfect review! Of course, my favorite things about being a Kimpton InTouch member is the complimentary internet access!! So, when your travels bring you back to DC, give us a call! We hope to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

The George had a very friendly staff. They were very helpful with any questions on where to eat to how to get there. I had originally requested a room with two queen beds. When I arrived they did not have one available and gave me a king with a pull out sofa. They were able to move us to a new room the next day. The beds were really nice and comfortable with feather pillows and comforter. They also have free wine happy hour everyday which I thought was a nice touch. It's a block away from Union Station so easy to catch the redline. There weren't too many restaurants in the area though except at Union Station or to take a taxi somewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmie0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: Carmie0307, thank you for the wonderful review. I am very happy to see that my staff was able to take care of you during your stay. Yes, the manager hosted wine reception is one of my favorite perks here at the Hotel George and I am glad you were able to join us! Speaking of perks, next time you come to visit, you should try our new complimentary Bike Program!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Excellent location,helpful friendly staff. But the room, upgraded, was still very old and tired, needs a solid renovation. Handy to central station which is a great place to visit and explore.
Recommend Hop On Hop Off tours located at the station for value and great guides.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank areyathere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: areyathere, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for choosing the Hotel George.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#103 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimpton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimpton George Hotel

Property: The Kimpton George Hotel
Address: 15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-1501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kimpton George Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, The Kimpton George Hotel stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. The Kimpton George Hotel, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill's business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Kimpton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing