We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton George Hotel
Ranked #19 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“Friendly Staff”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The George had a very friendly staff. They were very helpful with any questions on where to eat to how to get there. I had originally requested a room with two queen beds. When I arrived they did not have one available and gave me a king with a pull out sofa. They were able to move us to a new room the next day. The beds were really nice and comfortable with feather pillows and comforter. They also have free wine happy hour everyday which I thought was a nice touch. It's a block away from Union Station so easy to catch the redline. There weren't too many restaurants in the area though except at Union Station or to take a taxi somewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmie0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: Carmie0307, thank you for the wonderful review. I am very happy to see that my staff was able to take care of you during your stay. Yes, the manager hosted wine reception is one of my favorite perks here at the Hotel George and I am glad you were able to join us! Speaking of perks, next time you come to visit, you should try our new complimentary Bike Program!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,376
    546
    142
    33
    23
See reviews for
506
637
163
563
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Excellent location,helpful friendly staff. But the room, upgraded, was still very old and tired, needs a solid renovation. Handy to central station which is a great place to visit and explore.
Recommend Hop On Hop Off tours located at the station for value and great guides.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank areyathere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: areyathere, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for choosing the Hotel George.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Traveled to this lhotel for business. The location is great, a block from Union Station. The check in with Eduardo was great. He was very accomodating and kind. All the staff was friendly. I misplaced my bill and Bria immediately emailed me a copy. The wine hour at night was a nice touch.

Room Tip: My first room was on 2nd floor by elevator. I asked for a change and was placed on the 8th floor. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: Chris R, thank you for sharing with us your feedback and recognizing our wonderful staff. Please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

As with most things, the first impression counts the most. The doorman was friendly and accomodating, the registration process was quick and easy, my room was fresh and inviting, the work station large with enough plugs, and the bathroom clean. As I used the hallways, the staff always acknowledged me. The adjoining restaurant, Bistro Bis had a great bar and menu plus a knowledgeable wait staff. Most of my time was spent at the Capitol and Union Station, both of which are within an easy walking distance. Overall, a really enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Never unpack before checking the quality of the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: Ray M, thank you for taking the time to share with us your wonderful experience. We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed two nights to see the sights of capital hill, the national mall, and wanted to be close to Union Station and this hotel was perfect. The Bistro Bis restaurant was outstanding but pricey. There are a couple of Irish pubs around the corner, The Dubliner and the Irish Times that were perfect for our second evening's drinks and meal.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a good view, they offered me an upgrade for $20/night which I declined.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveO220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: SteveO220, thank you for your wonderful review! We are looking forward to your next stay here with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I stay with Kimpton as often as possible. The George is another shining example of what good service looks like. We were not happy with our first room and were changed into a great room without any hassle.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrFritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: DrFritz, thank you so much for your shining review and your loyalty with Kimpton Hotels! Please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Was extremely pleased. The only bad thing was the parking rate of $43.00 a day but we parked across the street for $19 a day and just walked/rode the metro every where we went. Very friendly and accommodating staff. We will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelligirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Front Office Manager, Michael Robinson: Kelligirl82, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Please visit us again soon for another exceptional stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#97 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#100 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton George Hotel

Property: Kimpton George Hotel
Address: 15 E Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton George Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, The Kimpton George Hotel stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. The Kimpton George Hotel, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill's business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing