We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton George Hotel
Ranked #21 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I stay with Kimpton as often as possible. The George is another shining example of what good service looks like. We were not happy with our first room and were changed into a great room without any hassle.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrFritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: DrFritz, thank you so much for your shining review and your loyalty with Kimpton Hotels! Please come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,390 - 1,396 of 2,225 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

Was extremely pleased. The only bad thing was the parking rate of $43.00 a day but we parked across the street for $19 a day and just walked/rode the metro every where we went. Very friendly and accommodating staff. We will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelligirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Front Office Manager, Michael Robinson: Kelligirl82, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Please visit us again soon for another exceptional stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

From the moment driving up and being greeted by name to checking out with the sense We were leaving home, Hotel George has the best staff providing the best personalized guest-house experience. Mike Robinson and his front desk staff will take amazing care of you, the rooms are spectacular, and the customer service is the best I have experienced in DC and frankly anywhere I have stayed in the world. If you need something, it is there before you can even ask. Close to everything you want to see in the District, from the notable tourist sites to fine dining and public transportation. Hotel George has my strongest recommendation. Stay here and don't worry about a thing! KW

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Kurt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Front Office Manager, Michael Robinson: Kurt W, thank you so much for the shout-out and recognizing the service that we strive to perform every day. We hope to welcome you back very soon! Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband & I brought our 13 year old granddaughter to Washington DC and we stayed at The George for a week. The staff went out of their way to make our granddaughter feel welcome and comfortable. We stayed there in 2009 and were amazed to see some of the same staff members! Our room was comfortable and clean. We understand there will be a renovation soon. The rooms & decor do need updating. We love the location of The George. It is walking distance to everything on Capitol Hill. There is also easy cab access. After a long day of sightseeing, we felt like we were returning "home" at the end of each day. We were always warmly greeted. The Bistro Bis is a great restaurant. We loved going next door for dinner. Don, the manager, is amazing as is the food. We would not hesitate returning to Hotel George the next time we visit DC. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicksterh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Front Office Manager, Michael Robinson: vicksterh, We are very happy that you decided to return to your "home away from home". We look forward to providing you with many more outstanding stays, so please come visit us again soon. Thank you for your business and loyalty!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Is there another Hotel George? Anywhere? Hope not because they might not want to compete with this one. We were New York bound and our publisher picked Hotel George because (a) we like the Kimpton brand and (b) it is close to Union Station. Close enough to walk. We put the car in valet, checked into our room (quirky, a little edgy, just like we like it) and went to the hotel's restaurant for a glass of wine and dinner. We had no idea thar Bistro Bis was the restaurant in the hotel. Had a smashing dinner -steak frites with a bottle of malbec. The restaurant was both hip and sophisticated. Felt a lot like France. Tasted like France too. We will definitely return to the restaurant. The room was comfortable and we left early in the am to catch the Acela to NYC. On our return we stopped at Hotel George to retrieve our car from the valet and the manager decided to charge us for only one night! Kimpton Hotels have had our loyalty for years. We are never disappointed. Tonight, 21 Sept, we have business in DC and will spend the night at The Monaco, close to our event. We know before arriving that it will be a great stay, we know we will have a terrific meal at Poste. Don't know how Kimpton gets this consistency in it's staff and in it's properties, but we love it. Next, Salt Lake city and LA, Kimptons again!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank mastdis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Front Office Manager, Michael Robinson: By mastdis, what a great post! Please come back and visit us again soon for another smashing stay! Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Our one night stay was pleasant. The service was good, especially in the bar. The room was clean. And, the hotel is very convenient to Capitol Hill. My only complaint was the smallness of the rooms and the terrible views. The George is a fine hotel, but we didn't care for the quirky decor. I felt like I was staying in an Andy Warhol property. Not our style.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank District20003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Front Office Manager, Michael Robinson: District20003, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for choosing Hotel George.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Check in experience was wonderful. Room was clean and neat. Room service was lightening fast and the food was excellent. Very convenient to Capitol Hill. Four stars because there was evidence of lack of maintenance/ attention detail in my room - Tub was chipped, shower grout was stained and moldy, and the ceiling in the bathroom was saggy with chipping paint. Sometimes letting the smaller things go is an indication of bigger problems. Overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naldo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Front Office Manager, Michael Robinson: Naldo123, Wonderful service along with clean & neat rooms is our specialty. I'm very glad to read that you were able to experience what we strive for here at The George. I would also like to thank you for your feedback in regards to some of the minor flaws which I can assure you has been addressed for our arriving guests to come. We thank you for your business and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,430 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
1,757 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
413 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#95 of 141 in Washington DC
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton George Hotel

Address: 15 E Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-1501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $196 - $529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton George Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, The Kimpton George Hotel stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. The Kimpton George Hotel, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill's business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing