We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel George”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton George Hotel
Ranked #21 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Portsmouth, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel George”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I loved my visit at the Hotel George! My only regret was that I could not stay longer. The establishment was spotless; service was impeccable; and the restaurant was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Front Office Manager, Michael Robinson: Laura M, thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. I would also like to thank you for recognizing our "impeccable" service, this is something we surely take great pride in. Please come visit us again, so we can provide another flawless stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,400
    552
    144
    34
    25
See reviews for
520
646
165
570
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Had a very enjoyable stay at The Hotel George in Washington, D.C. Thought the staff was very welcoming. Especially enjoyed the 5 o'clock complementary wine & all day lemonade/iced tea. Very attractive lobby with comfortable seating. The room was super quiet & and the beds were so comfortable. It is the best I have ever slept at a hotel before. We were surprised to see there were other guests on the same floor being that we never heard doors opening and closing or any room noise. Only downside was there weren't enough places in walking distance to have a variety of dining so we had to use our car to find restaurants for meals.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnied33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Front Office Manager, Michael Robinson: bonnied33, I'm really happy you had an all-around pleasant stay with us. I have to agree, the complimentary beverage receptions are a hit! Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jericho, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Good location, just blocks from Capitol Hill and Union Station. Very helpful staff. Wine reception every evening, but this is also a very kid- and dog-friendly place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Front Office Manager, Michael Robinson: Valerie B, thank you for choosing Hotel George. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel George for a weekend. We checked in late (1:00 am) after a night out with friends and were greeted nicely by the front desk. Our room was small but adorable and funky--in a good way! Very clean. Great location. An easy walk to Union Station, National Mall and museums. Good choice for a weekend in DC.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimS18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Front Office Manager, Michael Robinson: KimS18, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad you enjoyed our funky fresh rooms, and hope you return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

George really impressed us. The location is great. Near Union station. We had our breakfast there and there were many choices. We also parked our car there over night. The room was comfortable and clean. Service was friendly. The bathroom included a separate shower and bathtub, something that we appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSF88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Front Office Manager, Michael Robinson: PSF88, from the superb location to the in-room amenities we are happy to hear you had a great stay. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2012

If you want to be close to the Mall and Union Station, this Kimpton property is a gem. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. It has a great atmosphere and the property is beautiful. Although the rooms are a little small, the staff alone makes up for it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Front Office Manager, Michael Robinson: Vince C, I am very happy to hear my staff created an exceptional stay while staying here at The George. Thank you for your feedback and business, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

A friend & I stayed at Hotel George for the past three nights and we'll definitely go back. We were greeted each time & I really enjoyed there was always something to drink when we came inside, as it was 100 degrees each day. The room was great, I really liked the glass shower, & I cannot rave enough about the pillows! I travel with my own pillow & didn't even use it while I was there. I'm ordering one online ASAP!
Awesome perks - there is a Wii downstairs, a piano, & you can even check out a bike to ride around the city! So many amenities to mention - enjoyed the wine tasting one night, the robes were nice, we signed up and received free wi-fi as well as $10 credit to the mini-bar!
I'm extremely pleased & plan to return in a few weeks when I have to visit DC again! This time, I'm going to try the restaurant inside the hotel!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms do look directly into other rooms, but most people had their blinds pulled - it re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelloK8e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Front Office Manager, Michael Robinson: HelloK8e, in regards to your great experience I would have to say we hit this one out of the park?! I'm super glad that you were pleased with your stay here at The George, and can't wait to have you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
276 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#88 of 141 in Washington DC
178 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,167 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton George Hotel

Property: Kimpton George Hotel
Address: 15 E Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton George Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, The Kimpton George Hotel stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. The Kimpton George Hotel, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill's business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimpton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing