We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay!”
Review of William Penn House

William Penn House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
William Penn House
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The staff was really friendly, the hostel is located in a nice area close to the Capitol. The rooms and the bathrooms were clean. I stayed in an all female 4 person dorm, which was really nice. The breakfast was nice, nothing special, but good enough as a basis for a long day in DC. I can definitely recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leppi3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for William Penn House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 19 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

A very comfortable group living room and eating area accommodates a lot of people. A school group of 6th graders made the evening boisterous, but they were quiet in the sleeping area. Sleeping quarters are bunk beds and there are four to six beds (2-3 bunks) per room. Even the 10-bed dorm was partitioned into 2 rooms.
Plenty of bathrooms, but to get to some requires traversing all three levels of the house. Early morning quiet hours made it tougher to get up early and get rolling.
It's inexpensive, so you make and unmake your own bed and put up with the wiggle-worm on the other bed in your bunk. All said, an enjoyable visit, especially good for a large group of 4-10 people. Dorms are segregated by sex, but I don't know what the rules would be if a family of four wanted a 4-bed dorm.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
3  Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I was Google Searching to find the Quaker Meeting House in Washington DC and was delighted to find the William Penn House. No Smoking, No Drinking, No Television with Morning Meditation Available. Perfection!!!! The Most Interesting Guest stay there. I met a 77 year old woman going to a Protest at the White House. This was enough to make my Activist Quaker Heart dance with Joy. I stayed there in July of 2013 and returned again in January of 2014.

Room Tip: The Ten Bed Dorm is just as good as the Four Bed Dorm in my not so humble opinion,
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Star4Liberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William Penn H, Manager at William Penn House, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

We're so glad you found us, thanks for writing a review! It's great to hear appreciation for how we try to foster community through the simple accommodations, comfortable guest living room and of course the shared breakfast. We love the mix of backgrounds guests bring to the William Penn House, and how many breakfast conversations are about making the world a better place!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I had never been to DC before, but I had an extra day to tag on to a business trip. I picked this place for location, price and the tripadvisor reviews. What a lucky find! The facilities were adequate to my needs - I wont quibble about getting bumped from the 4 bunk to the 10 bunk room to accommodate a group - but I do wish they had bigger lockers, I could barely fit my lap top in it! But it really is about the location. It's an easy and charming walk from the Eastern Market stop on the metro - there is also the most ridiculously funky breakfast dive on the corner. There are bars and restaurants and a little market, not to mention the Eastern Market nearby. And best of all, its about 4 blocks to the Capital, the Library of Congress, 2 blocks from the Shakespeare library. I could not be happier with this choice and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank airportschlep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William Penn H, Manager at William Penn House, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, and for being so understanding about switching rooms. I'm glad you liked enjoyed our Capitol Hill neighborhood, and found Jimmy T's!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Enjoyed the friendly staff, comfy bunk, and most of all, the location on Capitol Hill. Within 10-mins' walk from Eastern Market, this place is a dream come true. I enjoyed meeting other guests and taking in the quiet 1/2-hour Walking in the Light from 7:30-8 AM. Overall comfy space.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank VelhoSorriso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I was in town for two days on business and I brought my 13 year old daughter along. We chose to stay at WPH after reading the reviews of fellow travelers and we were not disappointed at all. The accommodations were clean, the staff was friendly, the location was excellent, and the experience was unique! Thank you, WPH.

Room Tip: Any room with other travelers.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Sandradawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

First experience of staying in a hostel and wasn't disappointed. Breakfast was self serve cereals, toast hot coffee/tea, beds were comfortable and shower was hot.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MagicMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,527 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#100 of 141 in Washington DC
627 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#82 of 141 in Washington DC
2,576 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Kimpton George Hotel
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to William Penn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about William Penn House

Address: 515 E Capitol St SE, Washington DC, DC 20003-1142
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Capitol Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Washington DC
Price Range: $40 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The William Penn House is a hospitality center on Capitol Hill grounded in the Quaker faith. We provide overnight accommodations for travelers from around the world in an affordable community-based setting. Rooms are shared with 4-10 beds per room, and cost $45-$50 per person. Included are linens, towels, hot showers, and access to internet and computer. Our public dining room facilities include, tea, coffee, microwave, toasters, and fridge. Books, games, meeting and living rooms available. We also serve a simple breakfast every morning. In addition, we work to engage people from all walks of life with issues of peace, social justice, and environmental awareness, through inward reflection, service, education, and community building. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing