We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I LOVE this Place!!!!!”
Review of William Penn House

William Penn House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
William Penn House
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I LOVE this Place!!!!!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I was Google Searching to find the Quaker Meeting House in Washington DC and was delighted to find the William Penn House. No Smoking, No Drinking, No Television with Morning Meditation Available. Perfection!!!! The Most Interesting Guest stay there. I met a 77 year old woman going to a Protest at the White House. This was enough to make my Activist Quaker Heart dance with Joy. I stayed there in July of 2013 and returned again in January of 2014.

Room Tip: The Ten Bed Dorm is just as good as the Four Bed Dorm in my not so humble opinion,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Star4Liberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William Penn H, Manager at William Penn House, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We're so glad you found us, thanks for writing a review! It's great to hear appreciation for how we try to foster community through the simple accommodations, comfortable guest living room and of course the shared breakfast. We love the mix of backgrounds guests bring to the William Penn House, and how many breakfast conversations are about making the world a better place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I had never been to DC before, but I had an extra day to tag on to a business trip. I picked this place for location, price and the tripadvisor reviews. What a lucky find! The facilities were adequate to my needs - I wont quibble about getting bumped from the 4 bunk to the 10 bunk room to accommodate a group - but I do wish they had bigger lockers, I could barely fit my lap top in it! But it really is about the location. It's an easy and charming walk from the Eastern Market stop on the metro - there is also the most ridiculously funky breakfast dive on the corner. There are bars and restaurants and a little market, not to mention the Eastern Market nearby. And best of all, its about 4 blocks to the Capital, the Library of Congress, 2 blocks from the Shakespeare library. I could not be happier with this choice and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank airportschlep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William Penn H, Manager at William Penn House, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, and for being so understanding about switching rooms. I'm glad you liked enjoyed our Capitol Hill neighborhood, and found Jimmy T's!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Enjoyed the friendly staff, comfy bunk, and most of all, the location on Capitol Hill. Within 10-mins' walk from Eastern Market, this place is a dream come true. I enjoyed meeting other guests and taking in the quiet 1/2-hour Walking in the Light from 7:30-8 AM. Overall comfy space.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VelhoSorriso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I was in town for two days on business and I brought my 13 year old daughter along. We chose to stay at WPH after reading the reviews of fellow travelers and we were not disappointed at all. The accommodations were clean, the staff was friendly, the location was excellent, and the experience was unique! Thank you, WPH.

Room Tip: Any room with other travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sandradawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

First experience of staying in a hostel and wasn't disappointed. Breakfast was self serve cereals, toast hot coffee/tea, beds were comfortable and shower was hot.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MagicMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

The William Penn House is a quiet but friendly hostel with reasonable prices, clean accommodations, and the best location for all the Federal sights.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank delsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, WA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

A fellow Quaker told me about this hostel. Like others reviewers I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The location is a big plus. It's a 20 minute walk from Union Station and it's located about 6 blocks east of the Capitol Building, easy walking distance to the National Mall. I was able to always find at least one of the three bathrooms open.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jubilado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,454 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#102 of 141 in Washington DC
492 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Park Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
271 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 141 in Washington DC
2,504 reviews
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to William Penn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about William Penn House

Property: William Penn House
Address: 515 E Capitol St SE, Washington DC, DC 20003-1142
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Capitol Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The William Penn House is a hospitality center on Capitol Hill grounded in the Quaker faith. We provide overnight accommodations for travelers from around the world in an affordable community-based setting. Rooms are shared with 4-10 beds per room, and cost $45-$50 per person. Included are linens, towels, hot showers, and access to internet and computer. Our public dining room facilities include, tea, coffee, microwave, toasters, and fridge. Books, games, meeting and living rooms available. We also serve a simple breakfast every morning. In addition, we work to engage people from all walks of life with issues of peace, social justice, and environmental awareness, through inward reflection, service, education, and community building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your William Penn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing