We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good eats in a lovely neighborhood”
Review of Commissary

Commissary
Reserve a Table
2
Sun, 7/5
8:00 PM
OR
Order Online
Ranked #13 of 3,426 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Logan Circle/ Shaw
Cross street: Between 14th & 15th
Transit: From Dupont Circle: Walk 5 blocks east on P St. Commissary in on P St. between 15h and 14th. From U Street/Cardozo: Walk 6 blocks south on 13th St. Take a right and walk one and a half blocks west on P St. Commissary is on P St. between 14th and 15th. From McPherson Sqaure: Walk 7 blocks north on 14th St. Take a left on P St.
Description: Commissary is Logan Circle's casual neighborhood café. We serve breakfast & brunch, lunch & dinner, snacks & smoothies as well as house-made desserts and shakes, along with an expansive daily happy hour. We have a large bar, cozy lounge area, outside café and free Wi-Fi. Our diverse menu is simple and affordable, with breakfast all day, sandwiches, salads and pizza for lunch or dinner, plus a great selection of dinner entrees and daily seasonal specials. Commissary is a perfect any day, any time place.
Reviewed August 11, 2016

We made reservations for six which included kids. We were seated promptly, greeted by our server quickly and had drink orders in. The price and variety were very good as was the quality of the food. The location is all concrete and hard surfaces, so the noise level get high quickly. The server did accidentally give us the wrong ticket t first, then disappeared, but the manager was able to get it worked out. Overall, I'd say it was good and that I would go back.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JustJamesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val A, Manager at Commissary, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2016

Thank you for the great review. My apologies that the food got mixed up, but glad we were able to make it right immediately!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

857 - 861 of 1,317 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2016

We stayed around the corner and wanted a full breakfast in a local setting. The Commissary exceeded our expectations.
It's a large, neighborhood bar and casual dining place. With some tables and informal seating.
The smoked salmon omelette on latkes was outstanding, as was our second entree. Coffee was hot, strong and plentiful. Our waiter Rob was attentive and informative. When he overheard us mention that it was our wedding anniversary he brought over a free round of Mimosa's.
The restaurant is part of a farm-to-table philosophy and the all the ingredients were fresh. We liked it so much that we asked the manager about their 'sister' restaurants for our anniversary dinner. He recommended the more formal and quieter settings of either Logan Tavern or Grillfish where we went and had an excellent dinner.
The prices were reasonable for a full sit-down breakfast. The service was prompt but not rushed. It's the kind of place that you can sit all morning reading and sipping coffee too.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val A, Manager at Commissary, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2016

Thank you for the great review. It was our pleasure to help you celebrate such a special occasion, even with the smallest of gestures!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2016 via mobile

We decided to give this a try since it got pretty good ratings. But we were a bit disappointed. Grilled chicken was over spiced and a bit burned. Grilled salmon was good with the mango salsa but the side carrots were undercooked and oily. The mussels fra diavolo were very tasty but some were undercooked - shells did not open. All in all, food was just okay. Service was fantastic. Hostess was not the friendliest.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank CTMomofTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val A, Manager at Commissary, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Thank you for your review. We do apologize for the food not being up to snuff. We have addressed these issues with the chef. As for the hostess, I can assure you this is uncharacteristic of us as we pride ourselves with being a friendly establishment. Please rest assured that this will not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

As a family we like to try out new restaurants and don't often go to the same place twice. However we liked the Commissary so much - great choice, relaxed vibe, reasonable prices and good service - that we came here on two consecutive nights. Service was good on both nights, better on the first night than the second. Our waiter on Sunday was not as attentive but even so, it did not detract from a fab dining experience. I would definitely recommend!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank larissao570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2016 via mobile

I came here with my husband last night and we had the dinner deal for two, which meant we got a "small plate" (starter) each, a main meal each, and a shared dessert. Wow, was there ample food!!!

The starters alone were pretty filling and so delicious!!! I had the chicken wrapped in lettuce, and it was the best-tasting 'sang chow bao' I've ever had! My chicken kabob main was delicious and I tried some of my husband's steak, which was tender and perfectly cooked. Lastly came dessert, which was just humongous!!! Chocolate fudge brownie banana split!!! Somehow we managed to finish the whole dessert!!

Highly recommended for value for money, service, and quality of food!!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank 387jact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val A, Manager at Commissary, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2016

Thanks so much for this fantastic review! We pride ourselves in the value and quality for your buck!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commissary also viewed

 

Been to Commissary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United States
* TripAdvisor LLC is not a booking agent and does not charge any service fees to users of our site...
TripAdvisor LLC is not responsible for content on external web sites. Taxes, fees not included for deals content.