We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Founding Farmers in Rockville Maryland” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Founding Farmers

Founding Farmers
Reserve with OpenTable
Founding Farmers is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 3,188 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Cross street: 20th St. / Pennsylvania Ave. (Foggy Bottom)
Transit: There are two Metro stops within 3 blocks of the restaurant, Orange/Blue lines at Farragut West or Foggy Bottom/GWU. The red DC Circulator bus Georgetown/Union Station line stops on Pennsylvania Ave. at 21st street, as well as on K Street and on 19th, all just one block away.
Description: Founding Farmers, the Greenest Restaurant in DC, is owned by the more than 40,000 family farmers of the NDFU, serving American inspired real food and drink with an emphasis and focus on cooking from scratch. While our restaurant is supplied by hundreds of family farms everywhere, that doesn't mean we know every farm, and that doesn't mean we never have to buy product from the traditional (corporate) supply chain, but it does mean we're working hard to direct our purchasing dollars where it aligns with our values. We're serving the best food we can, made from scratch in our kitchens every day. Our innovative, American dishes are made primarily with pure ingredients honoring the farmers and their hard-earned bounty.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Founding Farmers in Rockville Maryland”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

The branch in Rockville is fairly new. It has gotten exponentiallly better since it opened. We love to sit at the bar, the service is excellent, drinks creative and food good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maura2362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,078 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,854
    1,444
    521
    164
    95
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
150 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

After months of primarily eating cheap food and cafeteria food on my intern budget, Founding Farmers was a great change of pace.

The food is incredible! The portions are huge, so make sure you ask for a to go box. Great food, great service. A little pricey but well worth it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
195 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Second time just as good as first”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Dropped my son off Saturday for school & had a late lunch with him and 4 buddies ( of course dear old dad picked up the check ) ... Food, service & staff are 100% professional... the entire place which is always busy for a reason and runs like a fine tuned machine... if you are in the nations capital give it a try... the long lines are worth the wait... a DC must

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lovetoeat5935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
605 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Very good, make a reservation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

FoundingFarmers is a very good place to eat in DC. The prices are a little high, and you definately need a reservation, but in the end I think it is worth it. This is a nice dinner with friends kind of place more than a quick business lunch, I think. The mussels are good as was the lobster mac and cheese. There are a lot of things to choose from, and ask the wait staff lots of questions because they know a lot about the menu and are happy to help.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank GoodFood88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great holiday breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

My daughter (home from college) and I were on our way to walk around Georgetown on Christmas Eve. Deciding to start with breakfast downtown, we searched various options and settled on Founding Farmers, based largely on the reviews here. With the federal government's decision to close that day, parking was no problem, and the crowd that reportedly causes long waits on weekends did not materialize that morning. We were seated right away, upstairs. The restaurant was bustling, just not packed to overflowing. The service was great, we both enjoyed our entrées, and the hot beignets were a wonderful treat. We did not feel at all rushed, and certainly did not leave hungry. Our coffee cups were refilled regularly. Our table for two was quite close to those on either side of us, but we weren't bothered by that. We enjoyed the decor-- even the bathroom (only saw the inside of one of them) was pleasant and informative. (Yes, informative-- sage advice on the wall, such as, "No man was ever shot while doing the dishes.") The breakfast tab was reasonable, though not cheap-- a total that I would be more accustomed to paying for lunch than breakfast, but then again, the order of beignets was an extra, and my daughter ordered an extra side of fresh fruit, so I felt we got great value for our money. A perfect start to a pre-Christmas dad-and-daughter downtown date!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MJGfromVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Founding Farmers also viewed

 

Been to Founding Farmers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing