We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
JAV_2008724
Pensacola, Florida

Terrible service and room was very small

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 20, 2019via mobile
You would think that when you stay at the St. Regis that the service would be great. In this hotel the service is sub standard and the room that they assigned us was very small. We have stayed in many hotels in DC in the last 3 years and by far this is the worst hotel and experience. I’d recommend that you stay at the Trump where service is better and the accommodations are lancer and more comfortable.
Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review
Responded Aug 21, 2019

Dear JAV_2008724:

Thank you for choosing us for your recent visit and for your comments. We are truly sorry for the level of attention afforded you, and that you did not like your room assignment. We are devoted to providing superb service from each of our associates, and we are grateful for feedback that helps us improve going forward. We have shared your concerns with the appropriate individuals to ensure this is not repeated.

We appreciate your patience and hope you will revisit us the next time you are in the D.C. area.

Sincerely,
Mr. Felix Schaller
Director of Operations
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
$126
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $139
  • Skyscanner.com
    $119
  • Expedia.com
    $139
0.8 miles from The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$271
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $260
  • Destinia.com
    $251
  • Priceline
0.8 miles from The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Guest Room
$179
  • Official Website
    $179
  • travelup.com
    $145
  • Expedia.com
    $179
0.8 miles from The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$109
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $109
  • Vio.com
    $102
  • Skyscanner.com
    $108
0.4 miles from The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
Free Wifi
Pool
$209
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $209
  • Agoda.com
    $160
  • Hotels.com
    $209
0.9 miles from The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$196
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $196
  • Skyscanner.com
    $193
  • Expedia.com
    $196
1.6 miles from The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$100
$87
  • Priceline
    $87
  • Skyscanner.com
    $87
  • Motto
    $87
0.8 miles from The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$280
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $299
  • Vio.com
    $179
  • Preferred Hotels
    $299
1.0 miles from The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
Free Wifi
Pool
Deck 11 - pool and deck chairs
$119
  • Yotel
    $119
  • Skyscanner.com
    $110
  • Vio.com
    $119
1.4 miles from The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
Pool
Restaurant
$112
  • Expedia.com
    $112
  • Skyscanner.com
    $111
  • Priceline
    $139
3.6 miles from The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
Free Wifi
Fitness center
View more hotels in Washington DC
Reviews (1,680)
Filter reviews
1,680 results
Traveler rating
1,106
294
167
62
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,106
294
167
62
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butler service white house champagne sabering metropolitan suite bathroom mirror beautiful hotel turn down service room service two blocks front desk manager an upgrade hay adams national mall lobby luxury turndown tub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 1,680 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2019 via mobile

The St Regis DC is an excellent hotel, well located for all the main attractions, just two blocks north of the White House. The hotel has been open for around 100 years and you really get a feel for the history of the hotel as soon as you pull up, with the architecture and the decor bringing you the vibe and glamour of old DC, of the three hotels we stayed on our trip, this had the most history, you could just tell.

Our arrival was managed well and we were well looked after by the bellman and the receptionist who made good conversation and checked us in with ease.

Our bags were sent to the room and upon finding our room, we were met by a traditionally styled but luxurious room. This is not a modern hotel, however the modern luxuries you expect such as flat screen TV, charging points next to the bed and fast WiFI were all present - we had everything we would need.

The bathroom was on the cosy side, with only a double shower. However everything was functional with good water pressure and toiletries. Nothing was missing.

Housekeeping service was also attentive, with a good evening turndown service and the added touch of classical music playing on your return to the room, helping you wind down for sleep.

I visited the gym, however did not use this. It was well appointed with modern equipment, however in a small windowless room in the basement. Not the best, but certainly practical.

We did not dine in the hotel, however did visit the bar before dinner one evening. Service was excellent with fantastic mixology behind the bar to create some unique cocktails. The oak panelled walls and jazz, gave you a feel for a time gone by but in a good way! We thoroughly enjoyed our pre-dinner drinks and also got to witness the St Regis ritual of champagne sabreing at 6pm - well worth a watch and a quick glass of champers after!

This was my first visit to a St Regis and I was thoughtful as to whether it would feel part of a global chain, or whether it would have the more personalised service and individuality of Four Seasons, Mandarin Oriental and the like and it certainly did.

If you want a 5*, luxury retreat that is small, cosy and a little traditional then I would certainly encourage a stay at St Regis DC.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank Daimarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2019

Dear Daimarrr,

Thank you for the excellent review and recommendation of our hotel The St. Regis Washington, D.C. It was our pleasure to welcome you with impeccable hospitality, and we are pleased our tranquil accommodations, and elegant decor made such a great impression. We want to inspire our guests with sophisticated yet historic charm, and we appreciate your kind comments about the St. Regis Bar and our signature St. Regis ritual, Champagne Sabering. Thank you again, and we look forward to hosting you back soon.

Sincerely,
Mr. Felix Schaller,
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2019

Competent and helpful staff, quick welcome and elegant and comfortable rooms like the whole hotel. Excellent restaurant; close to the best attractions of the town: Capitol, White House, Vietnam and Corean Memorial etc.

Date of stay: June 2019
2  Thank thetripper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2019

Dear thetripper10,

Thank you for the gracious review of our hotel, The St. Regis Washington, D.C. It was our pleasure to welcome you with flawless service, and we are pleased you could enjoy our impeccable downtown location, only two blocks from the White House and moments from the city's top attractions. We are delighted you loved everything we have to offer, including our dedicated associates, elegant accommodations, and your experience at our on-site restaurant. Thank you once more for choosing us, and we hope you will come back to see us soon.

Sincerely,
Mr. Felix Schaller
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend. I have to say it is a very central location for many other neighborhoods to explore in DC. The room was very nice, the Sunday brunch with live jazz band was fantastic.

I was able to use the bikes on location to ride around the area which was great time. This is my second time here and look forward to coming back in 2020.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
3  Thank MJL395
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2019

Dear MJL395,

Thank you for returning to The St. Regis Washington, DC. It is our pleasure knowing how much you enjoyed our impeccable downtown location, only two blocks from the White House and moments from the city's top attractions. We are also delighted you loved our well-appointed rooms and the delicious food offerings with the live jazz band. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and your next arrival is much awaited.

Sincerely,
Mr. Felix Schaller
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2019

After parking our car close by, we arrived 20 minutes early. The St. Regis is a beautiful hotel. My wife and I ate inside the hotel in the Alhambra restaurant. While waiting on our reservation time we were hospitably treated to a glass of ice water along with some mixed nuts and popcorn in the bar area in front of the entrance to the restaurant. We were given the option for seating for dinner at a window or booth. Both are good choices. We chose the window. Our waitress introduced herself and gave us the drink menus first. After we picked our drinks we picked our appetizer that was delicious with octopus. The octopus was cooked just right. We recommend it. Then we chose our Entrees, Alaskan Halibut with Iberian Ham and Wild Caught King Salmon. Great Choices! Our dessert was a chocolate flourless cake. It was very good. This was a very nice experience the waitress was most attentive, and we had a waiter that served us bread and butter which was very good too. We will return! Plus I ordered the Godfather mixed drink and my wife Mint Julep very good drinks.

Date of stay: August 2019
2  Thank Outdoorsman1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2019

Dear Outdoorsman1959,

Thank you for your kind words and your great review! We are glad you and your wife enjoyed the seasonal signature dishes, sparkling drinks, and excellent service at our Alhambra restaurant. Our chef takes pride in using the freshest ingredients in the meals he creates, and our servers take great pride in the hospitality they provide - all contributing to experience, unlike any other hotel restaurant. Your comments will be passed on to the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to The St. Regis Washington, DC.

Sincerely,
Mr. Felix Schaller
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2019

Great location - near a variety of decent restaurants, theaters, museums, and the White House. It’s a small hotel, but big enough to have everything you need with a comfortable atmosphere and great hospitality. It has beautiful architecture, an elegant event banquet hall that opens up to a charming outdoor courtyard, and a small but efficient and friendly bar. Though the hotel furniture is on the traditional side, the decor and appointments are refined and tasteful. We stayed in the Regis suite situated in the front corner on the upper floor which filled our room with an abundance of natural light. The clean, spacious master bathroom with separate large tub and an additional half bath in the hallway entrance was a plus.

We stayed here to celebrate my SIL’s milestone birthday last weekend. At check-in we asked for a couple glasses of champagne and a small treat for my SIL to recognize her birthday. The hotel thoughtfully welcomed our party of four with a wonderful bottle of champagne and a beautiful plate of decadent treats...nice! We were offered butler’s service with complimentary coffee and tea daily with additional perks and services, including, convenient shoe-shine and pressing services. In the evening, we had a delicious meal in their restaurant, Alhambra, and the wait staff was attentive, friendly and accommodating as we had to make our way over to the Kennedy Center to catch a show.

The following day we enjoyed afternoon tea service with our friends in the hotel lobby in honor of my SIL. They were great about accommodating my food allergies. The tea sandwiches were each a piece of art and tasty. The bite-sized desserts and scones, though not as good as the Ritz, were delectable. Though we each enjoyed our own tea selection, we were not allowed to share our tea as only the servers poured from the tea pots. The only slightly off experience we had was with our tea hostess who appeared unhappy and annoyed. However, overall the staff was extremely helpful, courteous, and knowledgeable. Their great service and accommodations made for a wonderful hotel stay and a memorable weekend. We would definitely recommend the hotel to others. Special appreciation and thanks goes to Geraldo C. and José for your attention to detail and generous, splendid service! And also to Sharif who was simply kind and helpful.

Many thanks! - KSA

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A6548EOkims
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2019

Dear A6548EOkims,

Thank you for the exceptional feedback of your time at The St. Regis Washington, D.C. We are delighted we were able to make your sister-in-law's birthday celebration a memorable one, and that we exceeded your expectations with our tireless hospitality. Our goal is to surpass all expectations and to help you escape to a sanctuary of indulgence & relaxation, and it was a pleasure reading you had a lovely experience at Alhambra and also at our Afternoon Tea, a St. Regis Signature ritual. We will share your kind comments with our dedicated associates, especially Geraldo C., Sharif, and José and thank them for their service excellence. We look forward to being your home away from home, be it for a special occasion or a vacation.

Sincerely,
Mr. Felix Schaller,
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews