We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and comfortable old Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
Ranked #23 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I struggled to know if I should give it 4 blobs or not. The location is terrific and the building (originally the Carlton I think) is interesting. The staff are friendly and efficient and the bar and restaurant very good. We were staying here as part of a group so the rate on the room was very good and the room itself quiet and comfortable. It is an old building though, so the bathroom was not good for a couple getting ready for a formal function, it was tiny and the place feels just a little tired. Not quite up to normal St Regis standards. On balance though I think the price, location comfort balance means that it deserves the 4 rating.

Room Tip: One of the back rooms is much quieter but the view is not. The compromise is worthwhile though if yo...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your visit. We appreciate your honesty and hope to see you back very soon.

Warm regards,

Ammar Samad
Director, Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,284)
There are newer reviews for The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

476 - 482 of 1,285 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2014

My mother wanted to take myself and my sister on a "quick trip" this summer, and we decided on D.C. I told her I'd help with the planning- and we visited our travel agent... though she tried to sell us on The W, - I was pretty sure I'd rather the St. Regis, for many reasons- including its proximity to The White House- but also because of the well known luxury St. Regis affords. After just returning from Aruba, where I stayed at the Ritz- I was looking forward to another pampering session but sadly- did not get it.

The hotel check-in staff was uppity- and right upon entering this put a bad taste in my mouth. Listen, we all have bad days, but please- don't act holier- than -thou when you're working behind the desk of the hotel that I'm staying in.

The room wasn't great- the shower had terrible engineering, in that when you opened the door it pushed water on the the floor and the entire bathroom was like a scene from "Titanic." Now, I am completely aware that most of the appeal of the St. Regis in D.C. comes from its long history. I appreciate that- but the beds felt as though they too could have been there from the start. Honestly- I've stayed in Holiday Inns during my youth that had more luxurious beds.

I was looking forward to eating at the restaurant there one night because we had been doing a lot of walking throughout the Smithsonian that day, but the hotel had already "rented out the restaurant" that night, and I received a letter of apology that I- a guest- would not be able to dine there that evening.

I just cannot believe how disappointing this stay was for me, and it's not even about the wasted money- I was really hoping to have a (good) memorable stay there.

The door service staff was very pleasant, though so it wasn't all bad.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Haley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am so sorry that you had a disappointment experience with us. I will investigate all the issues you have mentioned. Please feel free to contact me to discuss this further.

Again, I am sorry for your unpleasant visit.

Warm regards,

Ammar Samad
Director, Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed here only one night as we visited DC during a trip up the east coast. It was definitely not a cheap hotel by any means but we figured we had try it and pay up. The hotel is very close to the White House which was awesome, it is also well located so plus there. There is no pool at this property so if you're thinking this is a family hotel, think again. The hotel tailors more to diplomats and politicians it seems so it's very quiet. We were with our kids so we felt out of place, to some effect. The room was very nice and clean. The bathroom had a tv in it so that was a first for us, but definitely interesting. Would recommend this hotel more for adults more so than with children.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shirls04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the St. Regis. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Ammar Samad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Conveniently located between the Georgetown Circulator and the McPherson Square Metro Station, this hotel has a very friendly staff. Only minor negative is that shampoo/conditioner were only replenished once during my 3 night stay. Soaps and water were never restocked. I would probably stay here again if visiting both Georgetown and DC

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at the St. Regis. I will check into the housekeeping issue you had. Please feel free to contact me to discuss this at your convenience.

We look forward to your next visit very soon.

Warm regards,

Ammar Samad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary here and I highly recommend this place for anyone looking for a classic luxury hotel. We were greeted very promptly by the staff. We were also surprise to find out that after dinner they sent chocolate cake with a bottle of wine to our suite congratulating us on our anniversary. Thank You St Regis

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbgaines04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Director of Sales at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the St Regis, Washington, DC. I will share your wonderful feedback with our catering and room staff.

Thank you and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Doug Camp
Director, Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I really love this hotel. It´s near to the White House 10 minutes walking. It´s expensive but it ´s a St Regis and above all room are very nice. We travelled with a baby and they helped us to purify the bottles. Washington is a great city and the St Regis is a very good option to stay.

But what i loved is another thing. My wife lost her iphone. We came back and the hotel security told us they didn´t find the phone. So we left Washington without the phone and later i received a message to my linkedin from the hotel security to know if i travelled with my family in this hotel. Of course i did. And I asked about my phone. They asked me some question about the phone, the stay etc and they told me that they send the phone where i am. Absolutely incredible,

I love this hotel, love the service. I have to back next week in washington and will stay definitively in this hotel. Thank you for your help

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephane21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Director of Sales at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am so happy that you had a pleasant stay at the hotel. Thank you for the wonderful feedback and I was glad we were able to get you your cellphone returned. We look forward to your future stays with us.

Warm regards,

Doug Camp
Director, Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I would like to say that I am reviewing this hotel extremely late, but because of the experience that I received at the Atlanta location, I decided to give a review of my DC experience. I traveled to DC to experience the St. Regis and found it to be quite interesting. The decor was classy, the bar was nice, the check in was really easy.
I felt that the room that I had was over rated for the price, but I really enjoyed the bathroom. I enjoyed getting ready and watching TV in the restroom, sitting at the bar and just relaxing in the nice shower. The sleeping quarters in my opinion were nice, but I had experienced better.
I know that you pay for the high prices for service, but I needed ice and had to wait for it to be delivered and it did take quite some time. For the price, waiting on ice should have not been an option. (yes I am frugal, but I will treat myself sometimes.)
The location was great and my tour guide even provided some interesting facts regarding the hotel and its history.
Overall, the stay was like a piece of art, and part of the tour of DC. I felt important being dropped off of the tour bus to this historical place as the on lookers whimpered in admiration.
Maybe I will return again!

Room Tip: Try to search several sites for discounts. My stay was over a year ago, but it is still relevant sin...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Anjanetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Director of Sales at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I apologize for the issue you had waiting for ice and will look into that. I am glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay and look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Doug Camp
Director, Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
1,288 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
3,198 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
#15 of 141 in Washington DC
1,176 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#24 of 141 in Washington DC
1,843 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Washington, D.C.

Address: 923 16th and K Streets, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006 (Formerly Carlton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $368 - $1,053 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Washington, D.C. 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Washington, D.C. luxury hotel boasts the impeccable location and grandeur of The St. Regis Washington, D.C. Hotel. It is no wonder that every American President has stayed here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Washington, d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
St Regis Washington Dc
Washington Dc St Regis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing