We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location & Fabulous Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
Ranked #23 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
“Perfect location & Fabulous Service”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The St. Regis Washington DC is located about one block North of the White House, and centrally located to many of the historical sites in DC. The hotel is well appointed, with large, very comfortable and quiet rooms. The lobby ceiling is stunning, and a must see!

Most importantly, for any traveller, great service is the most important part of any hotel experience, and the St. Regis Washington DC provides absolutely great service. From the moment one arrives, they are greeted by their very efficient bell staff, who are very welcoming. The reception staff is very pleasant, courteous, and helpful. This hotel even has a Cultural Attaché, who can assist even the most frequent DC visitor with discovering new and exciting things to do in DC.

Their new restaurant, Decanter, is amazing not only because the food is delicious, but also because the entire restaurant staff is attentive and professional. The wine director is gracious, engaging, and extremely knowledgeable about all of the wines, and knows how to pair the perfect wines with your meal. As an anecdote, our flight arrived three hours late at 12:15 am from San Francisco and we were very hungry. After checking-in at the hotel, we asked if we could get a bite to eat, but did not want to eat in our room. The staff in the hotel Bar was very accommodative (even thought they were ready to leave) and provided us with food and drinks, and most impressively, stayed until we finished our meal.

Great hotel, awesome staff and service! Thank you.
Bravo!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fabulous review of the St. Regis Washington DC. I am thrilled to read that you had an “awesome” experience at our hotel and enjoyed its “large, very comfortable…quiet” rooms, “absolutely great service” and “amazing” new restaurant “Decanter.” Thank you especially for your kind words regarding Alex Gruhin, the St. Regis Washington DC’s Cultural Attaché, and Orcun Turkay, our Director of Beverage. We are proud to have the best staff of any hotel in the nation’s capital. I look forward to your return to your home away from home, The St. Regis Washington, DC.

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    233
    128
    41
    22
See reviews for
271
353
72
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My recent stay at the st. Regis was great. It is close to all the local attractions. The staff was extremely friendly & helpful. I plan to return. I have never had a bad experience at one of there properties.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the St. Regis Washington DC. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed our excellent location, “close to all the local attractions,” and “extremely friendly and helpful” staff. We are proud to have the best staff of any hotel in the nation’s capital. I look forward to your return to our property.

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

In trying to make a choice traveling with a teen daughter there are certainly "hipper" properties, but none more dedicated to service and comfort. Plus location right by the White House is a key for any out of towner.

Lovely deluxe room, best shower on our entire weeklong trip, great amenities. 3rd floor room was very quiet. Room service breakfast swift and good.

A terrific stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleBizMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the St. Regis Washington DC. Our team is certainly “dedicated to service” and we are delighted to have provided excellent service to you and your daughter accordingly. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your “lovely,” “very quiet” guestroom, “great” amenities and breakfast served through our private dining service. I look forward to your return to your home away from home, the St. Regis Washington DC.

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkesburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
213 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

From the old world charm and amazing rooms to the sincere friendliness and competence of the staff, this was my favorite hotel experience in 10 years! The lobby is gorgeous, the restaurant delicious, the rooms impeccably clean, the water pressure in the showers above average, and the staff were knowledgeable and warm. I can't wait to return!

And the location was perfect for all we wanted to do!

Room Tip: I was a bit skeptical being next to the elevator...but wasn't disturbed once (and am a light sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your extraordinary review of the St. Regis Washington DC. I am thrilled to read that your experience at our hotel was your “favorite hotel experience in 10 years.” Thank you, especially, for highlighting the “sincere friendliness and competence” of our “knowledgeable and warm” staff. We are proud to have the best staff of any hotel in Washington, DC. I look forward to your return to your home away from home, the St. Regis Washington DC.

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the St. Regis Hotel. Staff and service is superior!! They do not disappoint, from the front desk, the wait staff, housekeeping and the butler service. Everyone is very attentive to detail and making your stay a memorable one. We've stayed in DC before, but not at the St. Regis. The quality and service is unmatchable!! We also had our mini- schnauzer with us, as the hotel is pet friendly(extra cost). Again, staff was very welcoming and accomodating to our puppy. In regards to the room, room service and the restaurant, the food and service was excellent!! and the room elegant and clean. In regards to the location, excellent!! 2 blocks from the White House and other exhibits close around...no complaints about the St. Regis only good memories....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Browniect107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the St. Regis Washington DC! I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay at our property. I appreciate your kind words regarding our “superior” staff and “unmatchable” service. We are proud to have the best staff of any hotel in Washington DC. I look forward to your return to the best address in the nation’s capital.

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We loved the location of the St. Regis you are steps from the White House and all the great sights of DC. The staff was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. I give the hotel 5 stars for the location clean rooms and elegant feel you expect from the St Regis!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of the St. Regis Washington DC! I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay at our property, only “steps from the White House.” I appreciate your kind words regarding our “clean” rooms and “elegant feel” and am glad to know that your experience at our property lived up to your expectations. I look forward to your return to the best address in the nation’s capital.

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have stayed at many other hotels in DC and the St. Regis beats them all. When you factor in all elements: location, service, amenities, luxuriousness, and quality, there is nothing that beats this hotel. It's not cheap, but you get what you pay for. On our most recent stay, in fact, it was priced very reasonably, maybe because it was mid-August and an unbearably hot weather month for Washington. We love the location -- a couple blocks from the north end of the White House. The hotel is very close to bus, and metro stops. Very good value, if you factor in all elements. Some of the rooms have bathrooms with very limited counter space -- that's about the worst thing I can find to say about this hotel.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms do not have a good view. Seems to me that the west side rooms would offer the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolverinemom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review of the “best” hotel in the nation’s capital, The St. Regis Washington DC. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed our property’s location, service, amenities, “luxuriousness” and overall quality. Please know that your feedback regarding limited counter space in your guestroom’s bathroom is being investigated and the issue will be rectified in due course. Thank you very much for choosing our property. I look forward to your return.

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,146 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
1,232 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
#13 of 141 in Washington DC
1,097 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#15 of 141 in Washington DC
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Washington, D.C.

Property: The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
Address: 923 16th and K Streets, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006 (Formerly Carlton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Washington, D.C. 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Washington, D.C. luxury hotel boasts the impeccable location and grandeur of The St. Regis Washington, D.C. Hotel. It is no wonder that every American President has stayed here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Washington, d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
St Regis Washington Dc
Washington Dc St Regis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing