We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$207
$180
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $271/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$135
$119
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$121
$99
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of $170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$127
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$170
Dupont Circle
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$237
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$165
$159
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $196/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni Shoreham Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$139
$125
Capitol Hill
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$123
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,381)
Filter reviews
1,381 results
Traveler rating
915
256
138
45
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
915
256
138
45
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutler servicewhite housemetropolitan suitechampagne saberingjean francoisbathroom mirrorbeautiful hotelturn down servicetwo blocksroom serviceconcierge deskupgraded roomk streetfour seasonsthe entire staffupon checkhay adams
Filter
Updating list...
911 - 916 of 1,381 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We travelled to DC to celebrate my husband's US citizenship and chose the St. Regis primarily because of our familiarity with the Starwood brand. We were pleasantly surprised at the level of service and comfort for this quite affordable hotel. The lobby was luxurious and quaint...the rooms were a bit smaller than average, but touches such as the chandelier, the gold bathroom fixtures, and the crystal ice bucket were appreciated. The location is nice, but not perfect..well, that depends on what you are looking for. We were in DC to sightsee and visit the monuments. While all are within walking distance, the Lincoln, Jefferson, Vietnam, WWII, MLK, and Korean monuments were a bit far to walk if you are tired. Having said that, the White House is 2 blocks up the road and can be seen from the front of the hotel. The Capital building is a bit further, and the Washington monument is easily reached by foot. The bathroom amenities were very nice. Having said all this, I will concentrate on why we chose the St. Regis. We appreciate service. Their butler service motto of "as you wish" certainly lived up to it's name. Every detail we asked, was immediately and personally attended to. The concierge staff was exceptional at giving advice and booking dining for us. A few small details we noticed on the "negative" side was that the housekeeping staff in the hallways never smiled or greeted us, the doormen were wonderful at times, and not so much at others, and as we are SPG preferred guests, we had late checkout on our departure date. On this date, we had 3 interruptions in the early afternoon by staff wanting to check the minibar, see what time we were checking out, etc....all when we had notified the front desk that we were opting for our late checkout at 4pm (which is a benefit appreciated by SPG preferred guests). I would definitely recommend the St. Regis Washington D.C. and would return in an instant. Overall, a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: As this hotel is in a historic building, it is "small" compared to many others in the Starwood line. I can't imagine there was a bad room. All were located near the elevators.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your extensive positive feedback regarding your “wonderful stay” at our property. I appreciate the time you took to illustrate your experience. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed our “luxurious and quaint lobby” and the decor in our guestrooms like the beautiful chandeliers, “gold bathroom fixtures” and “crystal ice bucket.” Thank you, also, for highlighting your positive experience with our “exceptional” concierge staff and butler service. The issues that you raised regarding our housekeeping staff and SPG late checkout are being investigated and will be rectified in due course. Thank you for bringing them to my attention. I look forward to meeting you on your next trip to the St. Regis Washington DC.

Warm Regards,
Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The concierge and room service staff are some of the best we've met. Wonderful attentive service. The building itself accounts for the downsides. No hotel is luxury in our view if there is no bath in the rooms. The rooms are overlooked by the office block opposite. The bar is so small you need to reserve a seat, we were turned away from an almost empty bar because all the seats were reserved! The restaurant was the poorest we ate in all week, although service at breakfast was lightning fast.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank multitrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the St. Regis Washington DC! I am glad to read that you enjoyed our concierge and private dining staff and consider them among “the best [you’ve] met.” We are proud to have the best staff of any hotel in Washington DC and I am glad that they were able to elevate your experience at our property. I also appreciate the concerns you raised regarding our bar and restaurant. The issues are being investigated and will be rectified in due course. I look forward to meeting you on your next stay at the best address in Washington DC.

Warm Regards,
Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

very well placed - only two blocks from the White House, and handy for Metro and lots of local restaurants.

Room was well-equipped and a good size but not generously large. Comfortable bed and complementary water and wifi.

Good bar where some food is available - though the menu is not always out which causes some confusion.

Breakfast is waiter service with lots of choice.

The Adour restaurant is top-end in quality and price, and worth the experience.

Overall the decor is a bit confused, but it is comfortable.

Staff were all attentive and keen to help.

Room Tip: Better to get a street view
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Hotel_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your excellent review of the St. Regis Washington DC. I am thrilled that you enjoyed our location, “only two blocks from the White House,” your “comfortable bed” and “well-equipped” room. I also appreciate your positive feedback regarding our newly renovated “St. Regis Bar” and wonderful restaurant “Adour” by Alain Ducasse. I look forward to your return to our property.

Warm Regards,
Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We enjoyed a long-weekend at this beautiful historic hotel. The lobby and bar were beautiful and the room was spacious, especially for an older hotel. The bathroom was large and the tv in the mirror was a nice touch. The location was the biggest pro for this hotel-within easy walking distance of the White House and other downtown areas; we chose to take a cab to the museums, simply because of the weather, but could have walked it in pleasant temperatures.

One negative about this hotel was not having coffee in the room. We'd read about this and called ahead to ask to have a coffee pot in the room when we arrived, to no avail. Then it was delivered the next day, which was nice, but coffee wasn't replenished the following day. Starbucks is just across the street, but we like brewing and sipping while getting ready. Not a deal breaker, but one area where the hotel could have improved.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mort39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the St. Regis Washington DC! I am glad that you enjoyed our “spacious” rooms and phenomenal location, located two blocks north of the White House on 16th Street. The issues regarding coffee service been investigated and appropriate action has been taken. I hope to see you again at the best address in Washington DC in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

St. Regis Washington gets everything right. Location is 1 block from the White House. Lobby is fantastic. Staff are incredibly well trained and cheerful - no attitude. Rooms are unique, beautiful, everything works perfectly. Beds are incredibly comfortable. Staff seems to intuitively understand who you are and why you are there. Service is perfect, ready to cheerfully help, never creepy or overbearing. The stays here just seem to function as if your stay were a movie and the staff already knows the ending. This property's commitment to keeping the building, the rooms, the utilities, amenities, decor absolutely perfect is almost beyond belief. This is an expensive hotel, folks. Do not gripe about costs. I have never felt like I wasted a penny here. This is an outstanding special-occassion hotel because they treat each and every stay as if you were a visiting head of state, even if its really just a business trip.

Room Tip: This is one of those hotels where they simply do not have "bad rooms". Any one will do.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay at the St. Regis Washington. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed our “unique, beautiful” rooms, “incredibly comfortable” beds and our “well trained,” “intuitive” and “cheerful” staff. We are proud to have the finest staff of any hotel in Washington DC and genuinely appreciate your kind remarks. I look forward to meeting you when you return to our nation’s capital.

Warm Regards,
Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews