We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
Nearby Hotels
$191
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $238/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$113
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni Shoreham Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $188/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$174
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$140
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$130
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$179
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,355)
Filter reviews
1,355 results
Traveler rating
895
254
137
44
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
895
254
137
44
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutler servicewhite housemetropolitan suitejean francoischampagne saberingbathroom mirrorturn down servicebeautiful hoteltwo blocksroom serviceupgraded roomconcierge deskk streetfour seasonsthe entire staffupon checkhay adams
Filter
Updating list...
943 - 948 of 1,355 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Location is the only positive comment about this property. The hide a bed in the room was the most uncomfortable thing I have ever experienced. It took four requests before they brought a bed board. Another multiple reminders for our morning paper, which never made it during our six day stay. They never provided enough bath towels, even after several requests. Finally, the staff was less than friendly. We never felt as if they cared about us. Would not recommend this property. Last year we stayed at the Four Seasons in Georgetown. That is where we will return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

I sincerely apologize for your experience while staying as our guest. I would like to speak with you directly regarding your experience. Please contact me at your convenience at ammar.samad@stregis.com or 202-580-6784. Your feedback is appreciated as we are always striving to provide the best service to our guests.

Warm regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The St Regis DC is nice and upscale but it's not updated like many of their other properties. I am an SPG Gold Member and had booked a suite and an ajoining King on 12/23 for two nights. We arrived at 2:20 and our rooms weren't ready and there was no upgrade (does anybody ever get these SPG Gold upgrades). I was in shock that the rooms weren't ready because I am a Gold member, so we plopped down with our kid in the lobby and waited until 2:55 when they decided to hand us our keys. The room was nice, but not too big. The bathroom was modern and updated. We ate breakfast at the gorgeous restaurant on Christmas day and it was amazing - great food and service. We plan to go back to DC next year, but are not 100% sold on the St Regis property.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelNYCer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback. Our hotel was renovated at the beginning of 2008 and was updated with modern amenities throughout. However, I do apologize that they were not up to your standards. Rooms are guaranteed for check in at 3:00pm though we do try our best to accommodate early check-ins. With that being said we do not want to sacrifice our standards of cleanliness and need an adequate amount of time to service and inspect each room after checkout at 12:00pm. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your return to Washington.

Warm regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I came to DC for an impromptu mother daughter weekend, and it was both of our first times in DC. From the moment my mom and I first walked into the hotel we were impressed, and the location really can't be beat. Given that it is the holidays and since the trip was last minute we weren't sure if we would be able to get a reservation at any restaurant last minute. Luckily, Alex at the concierge desk was there to help! He recommended Fiola for dinner and even though the restaurant was fully booked he managed to get us a reservation. While he was on the phone with the restaurant he overheard my mom and I talking about wanting to sight see, and no sooner had he booked our dinner, he had out a map and was telling us what we absolutely should not miss while we were in town. Not only did we have a fabulous day touring DC thanks to him, but we had an amazing meal that evening. Alex truly made our trip unforgettable and we will be talking about our stay at the St Regis for a long time to come. We can't wait to plan our next mother daughter trip to come back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ariel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you and your mother back to the St. Regis upon your next visit to Washington, D.C.

Warm regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

did a staycation for Christmas Eve at the St. Regis -- stayed in a metropolitan suite (corner with lots of windows and two views). The decor was classic, but a little more old-school than the Four Seasons standard -- heavy fabrics and patterns, but not stodgy; very comfortable, but elegant. Great shower - big space. Standard sized separate tub under the picture window. Service was impeccable -- room service was delivered within 15 minutes, served hot, and presented as if we were in the restaurant. For tourism, it's just two blocks from the Pennsylvania Ave entrance to the White House, right on 16th. Staff was very accomodating -- late check-out was greeted with a pleasant "yes"; porters and room-service staff were friendly without fawning.

For my first experience, it may well supplant the Four Seasons in Georgetown as my favorite in the district; it's certainly on par. I still like the Four Seasons for its lap pool -- the only indoor hotel lap pool that I know of in DC.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erdocmdca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at the St. Regis for 4 night over the Christmas holiday. First the good.The hotel is in a great location, right up from the White House. The rooms are quiet and the beds are very comfortable. The doormen were very nice. Now the bad. The hotel just misses the mark on so many small things. First, there are no irons/ironing boards in the rooms. Who wants to wait for housekeeping when you want to iron pants at the last minute? The two rooms we stayed in did not have bathtubs. Again, for a hotel of this caliber not to have tubs seems ridiculous. Of course, there were no coffee makers in the rooms ( how about a keurig!!) and unless you went to the lobby really early, there was no coffee there either. Room service was prompt with the coffee, but it is silly to have to order a whole pot for just two cups of coffee. For some reason, some guests got the morning paper, but we did not. This seems just darn cheap!!! There really aren't any closets, rather there is a wardrobe that is not all that big. The bathrooms have make up mirrors, but the lighting is so bad, they are practically useless. There is a TV in the bathroom mirror which is very high tech, except that you can't see the picture very well when the lights are on. There are many better options in DC than the St. Regis. I was very sorry it was so disappointing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travlinmom1429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback so that we are able to improve upon our service and amenities. Rooms with bathtubs are available upon request as unfortunately due to space restrictions we are not able to have bathtubs in every room. In addition, ironing boards as well as coffee makers are available upon request and are brought to the room promptly by our St. Regis Butlers. I apologize that you did not receive the newspaper during the morning of your stay and will follow up with Housekeeping to ensure consistency of this service to all of our guests. Please feel free to contact me directly regarding your stay with us at ammar.samad@stregis.com or (202)580-6784.

Warm regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews