We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 3.5 star hotel masquerading as a 5”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
Ranked #24 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A 3.5 star hotel masquerading as a 5”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

I'm not quite sure why people are raving about the location? It is indeed a few blocks from the back of the White House but still not center to the National Mall. For location, my recommendations would be the Willard InterContinental or the W. Both hotels are comparable but without the St Regis price tag.

Service, amenities, room size and décor is average at best. The gym is small and they don’t have a pool. The restaurant was closed two of the three nights I was there. There is no outside patio. Don’t get me wrong, the hotel is beautiful, but when you pay the price of a 5 star hotel you expect an experience over and above the rest. I did not get that experience. The Peninsula, Mandarin and the Four Seasons are 5 star hotels that you walk away from with that “WOW” factor in mind, not the St. Regis.

What’s the purpose of an in the mirror TV if you don’t have a tub to soak in and watch? It does not even face the toilet. Who would pull a chair into the bathroom and watch TV?

The view from my room, as my picture demonstrates, was not inspiring. I counted the hotel room windows and approximately 70 rooms share this remarkable view. I know you can’t change the configuration of the building but the star rating can always be changed. I give it a 3.5.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank G I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KStreetDC, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies that we failed to meet your expectations. The St.Regis, Washington D.C. is committed to ensuring our guests experience bespoke and uncompromising service. I would like to speak to you at your earliest convenience and obtain further details about your stay. I may be reached at 202.638.2626 or via e-mail at ammar.samad@stregis.com. Thank you again for being our guest. The information certainly allows us to respond and ultimately improve our service.

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad,
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    236
    129
    44
    22
See reviews for
277
363
74
432
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I had 2 days of meetings in DC. I usually stay at the Four Seasons but the meetings were close to the St. Regis and it was recommended by a friend. I'm really glad I chose to stay here. Check-in was quick and professional, the room was great (I had booked a junior suite), service all around excellent. I had breakfast at the hotel both mornings and again, great service. I had drinks with some colleagues one evening in the bar, and the atmosphere was great. Overall, not cheap but a first class experience well worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KStreetDC, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your first class review. We are delighted that we earned your loyalty to our hotel. We look forward to your return visit.

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed at the St Regis in Washington for four nights in April 2010. Because the cherry blossoms were in bloom, the hotel was, I gather, completely booked or the Easter weekend.

The hotel is located two blocks from the White House(a fantastic location), and the rooms are large and well-appointed. The service was very good, and until another guest at the front desk asked to change rooms,we had no idea that the hotel was completely booked. The one possible indication was that the hotel’s concierge seemed overwhelmed when we asked if she could get us a table at the nearby W Hotel’s bar.

We had breakfast in the restaurant every day (starts at ~$20 for Continental), and it was very good. There is also a Starbucks across the street. When we asked the front desk about a bar in the area (other than the one at the hotel) on the night we arrived, we were sent to a GWU student hang-out bar, which we thought was a little odd.

The restaurant (Adour)is phenomenal (the soufflé is worth the wait indicated on the menu).

We would still like to try out the W Hotel, but we would also be happy to stay at the St Regis in Washington again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YOWboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KStreetDC, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, July 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and our signature restaurant Adour. The soufflé is exquisite and our pastry Chef Fabrice Bendano was recently nominated as pastry chef of the year. In addition our Baba desert was also named best desert in Washington, D.C. By Washingtonian Magazine.

Thank you again for staying with us we look forward to your return visit.

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay again at the St Regis in DC. The main reason was due to the hospitality of the front desk, especially Daniel Linnemann. We were not totally satisfied with the first room we were given, and Daniel handled it very professionally , and was able to put us in a room that satisfied all our expectations. He always checked with us during our stay in order to make sure we were having a great time. His personal attention really made our visit very special.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radioguy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KStreetDC, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review. We are delighted that our staff lead by Daniel Linnemann earned your loyalty to our hotel. We are very proud of the commitment that Daniel, and our associates share to delight our guests.

We look forward to your return visit.

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

My husband had a conference to attend while in DC so we stayed at the St. Regis & upgraded to a suite which the rates are regularly $500-800 a night. Supposedly, the suite comes with your very own personal butler who turns down your bed each night, but during our 4 day stay at the hotel we never experienced that service except for a note & welcome basket that was left on our desk the first day we checked in. The hotel lobby is very impressive & grand with crystal chandeliers & antique furnishings amidst the cherrywood & marble flooring, but the coffee served each morning was cold & I had to make a complaint to the concierge. The valet parking is expensive at $40 a night plus tipping every time we went out, but then again, all of DC is expensive except on Sunday when the parking is free on the streets. We also gave the restaurant a try but found that the room service is much better though pricier and don't bother with the blank angus steak at Adour because we found it overcooked & dry. They did offer an extensive wine selection & the modern atmosphere was a contrast from the remainder of the hotel's decor. Unfortunately, there was limited facilities on site besides a tiny business center & gym located in their basement floor. Only two blocks away from the White House, the St. Regis is in one of the prime areas of DC. However, the sound quality was awful even though we had a corner suite with only one wall connected to a neighbor who fought constantly & we could hear the water pipes at work each time they were in the bathroom. I am not sure if this is due to the fact that the bldg itself is older, but improvement is definitely necessary at the prices they charge & rated a five star hotel. On our last night in town, there was a wedding/reception downstairs in the ballroom & the music could be heard loudly which interrupted our sleep. The TV in the bathroom mirror is a joke because you would need binoculars to watch as you soak in the non-jacuzzi tub. The remainder of the remodeled bathroom had Italian mosaic & brass fixtures was a nice touch, along with the plush robe, slippers & imported toiletries.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patriciaychou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KStreetDC, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

The detailed information you provided allows us to respond and ultimately improve our service. We would like to note your preferences for future stays to ensure we meet all expectations.

Please contact me at your earliest convenience at 202.638.2626 or via e-mail at ammar.samad@stregis.com. Thank you again for being our guest and for your feedback.

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Positives: Beautiful historic building in a great location; Beds are extremely comfortable. Food in the hotel's restaurant is very good as expected; Great place to have a small reception. Negatives: Bathrooms are extremely small and awkward; The in-mirror TV in the bathroom is hard to see and the channels don't correspond to the main TV or the channel guide provided; The Hotel "Athletic Club" is small and poorly equipped, so the hotel directs you to a has-been club 2.5 blocks away at $15 per day; Service is inconsistent--most times the staff presence and attentiveness is as expected and at other times the staff presence and attitude rivals that of a motel; Concierge was present less than half the time I walked up to the counter and the one time I called, I received a message; Nightly turndown service can occur early in the evening before dinner or at an expected time after 8pm. One night, staff forgot to draw the curtains, once accidentally unplugged the Bose radio (should be turned on at turndown) and left, and twice failed to removed room service plates and food left on the table; Some bathroom accessories need to be replaced or polished--the plastic toilet seat cover was well scuffed and unattractive. Again, this is a beautiful property in a perfect location. The rates at the property have dropped since I last visited, but even at $400, when you book at a St. Regis, you expect St. Regis attention and service. In their own words, St. Regis is supposed to be an experience "beyond expectation," yet this property failed to meet my expectations. To be fair, this is a historic property, so little can be done about the size and layout of the bathrooms, but most of the inconveniences are a result of poor training, poor coordination and poor supervision. Based on the number of similar reviews, perhaps its time for a new GM.

Room Tip: Reserve an "outside" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelaroundoften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KStreetDC, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Please accept my sincerest apologies that we failed to meet your expectations. The St. Regis Washington D.C. is committed to ensuring our guests experience bespoke and uncompromising service. I would like to speak to you at your earliest convenience and obtain further details about your stay. At you earliest convenience, I may be reached at 202.638.2626 or via e-mail at ammar.samad@stregis.com. Thank you again for being our guest.

This information certainly allows us to respond and ultimately improve our service. We are very sorry to have disappointed you.

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, RI
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

I took a 3 day getaway to Washington DC with my niece, brother and teenage son.
The St. Regis is absolutely wonderful. Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly gentleman who took our bags and welcomed up heartily to the St. Regis. When you are in the St. Regis you are royalty to them regardless. Once inside the lobby absolutely glistens. There was a woman with her poodle inside taking afternoon tea. The ambience was wonderful, elegant yet charming. We had a well appointed room full of goodies, we even had room service (totally unexpected) delivering, complimentary cookies in the afternoon (the teens loved this) after a long day of sightseeing. This was a pollished elegant experience. By the way make sure you visit the breakfast room, it is gorgeous, we had the gourmet pancakes.

Definitely first class!!!!!!

Room Tip: My brother booked this reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtravelJohnston_RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KStreetDC, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review. We are delighted that your family retreat to the St. Regis Washington D.C. was absolutely wonderful. We hope to serve you again in the very near future. Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
1,274 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
3,176 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
#13 of 141 in Washington DC
1,154 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
1,820 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Washington, D.C.

Property: The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
Address: 923 16th and K Streets, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006 (Formerly Carlton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Washington, D.C. 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Washington, D.C. luxury hotel boasts the impeccable location and grandeur of The St. Regis Washington, D.C. Hotel. It is no wonder that every American President has stayed here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The St. Regis Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Washington, d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
St Regis Washington Dc
Washington Dc St Regis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing