We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Avoid it at all costs.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Georgetown Hill Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Georgetown Hill Inn
1832 Wisconsin Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Georgetown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid it at all costs.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

This "hotel" is not what it claims to be, or appears to be in the on-line photographs. The management is dishonest, aggressive and even frightening. The accomodations are closer to those of a youth hostel, rather than a hotel. The street noise from very busy Wisconsin Avenue is deafening. With so many good hotels struggling to survive, this "hotel" does not deserve to make it.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank romanspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    1
    2
    13
See reviews for
3
6
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

While the hotel room itself was quite nice, this is one of the worst experiences I have ever had at a hotel. I called the day before we arrived to confirm that we had the two bedroom suite reserved, which they confirmed we did. When we arrived we discovered they had given it away however, and with no apologies they could only give us two 1 bedroom rooms at $100 MORE a night. It was absolutely ridiculous, this is the least professionally run place I have ever stayed at. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, as you cannot rely on them.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VoyageuseNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Providence, RI
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

I can't rate the rooms, since the hotel failed to honor a reservation I had. I had called at about 5pm to guarantee they would hold a late check-in for me at 9:30pm and they said yeah, yeah....I was relocated here by the Omni which was overbooked. When I arrived, the door was locked, and "Sergio" the manager looked surprised to see me. He said he didn't have any rooms left and I was a single woman traveling alone and my cab had left. He did nothing to offer to help me find a new room, and when I asked if I had spoken to him earlier when I called to let them know I was arriving for a late check-in, he said "I talk to a lot of people."

For those who want to stay in Georgetown, this is not in the heart of it. It is in Glover Park - I used to live in DC, and this hotel's web site is very, very kind. It is above a coffee shop, on a busy street. The other side of the street is a grocery store.

There are far better places to stay before giving these guys your money.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rhody2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

This hotel had horrible customer serice! We called and made the reservations about 3 weeks prior to arrival and they sent no confirmation. Upon arrival, we were told that the price that we had been quoted was not the price because they had "run out of those rooms" and we were forced to spend $50 more per night. The only reason we even booked this hotel was because there was a promotion going on with the rates and the website was advertising rates that the "manager," who we spoke to, said were not correct. This was the worst hotel experience of my life and I would not recommend this place to anyone. The location was ok, but not as close to Georgetown as avertised and the look of the rooms was typical. It was pretty clean, but the service, location and lack of amenities were not up to par.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank te3810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

We enjoyed our stay in February. We were initially a bit concerned as it took a while to get confirmation of the booking in writing. However, all was well on arrival and we found the apartment stylish, very comfortable and in a great location. Bus, supermarket, restaurants were nearby and it was in a lovely location for walking around. The owners were very courteous and helpful. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AustralianTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhmgdocs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2009

I feel complete CHEATED by this hotel and it's middle-eastern owner. I also booked this hotel back in September for the Obama's inauguration, believing he would win the presidency.

I have a phone message confirmation for $153/night from January 18-21. I purchased $1000 worth of airline tickets based on these dates for my wife and i.

When i called to confirm with this owner, he fumbles about and can't to find my reservations. He then tells me they have a 4night minimum stay-- WHICH WAS NEVER EVER QUOTED TO ME back in September!

Becoming suspicious of a "bait and switch", i asked him what my night rate was quoted at and he tells me he doesn't know because his computer is not turned on.

He called me today....

1) He tells me that i am booke for the minimum of 4 nights from Jan 19-22nd (A COMPLETE LIE!!!!!)

2) He increases the nightly rate on me to $250!!!

This has completely ruined our trip!!! I can't afford this increased cost and will now need to cancel the entire trip, including the costly change fees associated with my airline tickets.

STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS CROOK!

I will be submitting a complaint to the Better Business Bureau.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
Helpful?
4 Thank mhmgdocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

Georgetown Hill Inn seemed like the perfect hotel for our three generations (suite with kitchenette) to travel to DC for the Obama Inauguration. I booked the hotel in October 2008 and received confirmation via email and phone confirmation number. Once I booked the hotel, I bought plane tickets. The day after the Election I get a phone call confirming my December reservation. The hotel was completely booked in January and was $300/night MORE than quoted. Then the owner offered up his cottage at his residence but haven't got a confirmation. I am VERY disappointed that a memorable time in our lives has transformed into a complete disaster. I am still searching for accommodations...

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank bakerfamily100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#87 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center
Georgetown University Hotel and ...
#113 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites
Georgetown Suites
#74 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
#53 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Georgetown Suites Harbour
#115 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Hill Inn

Property: Georgetown Hill Inn
Address: 1832 Wisconsin Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20007
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 354
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Georgetown Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hill Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing