We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very humbling”

Korean War Veterans Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
DC After Dark
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Small-Group Sunset Electric Bike Tour in Washington DC
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Morning DC Small-Group Bus Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Owner description: This memorial to Korean War veterans consists of the Pool of Remembrance and the triangular Field of Service depicting 19 soldiers on the field of combat.
lexington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“very humbling”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

The face etchings in the granite wall of service members are amazing. The configuration of the soldiers statues in the field are true to reality. I love the quote also Freedom is not Free behind the American Flag.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank sdr82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,169
    1,682
    324
    27
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wow, a real stunner for a Monument”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I went here with my son who was 19 at the time. We wanted to see the monuments at night when there are less crowds.

The two that took my breath away were Korea War Veteran's Memorial and The Viet Nam Memorial.

Korean War Monument it was late dark and you saw the soldiers almost seemed real. You have a strong sense of the conflict. Really was very moving about a war that does not get the attention that other wars have received to date.

Again late at night is good, kids all ages are good too.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank dennis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampton, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“One of the best memorials”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Seeing the Korean War Memorial was by far one of the best memorials I saw in DC. The statues of the soldiers in the field was very life-like and moving. I saw this site early in the morning and there was no one else there at that time and it made it especially moving for me to see it in it's quietness. Definitely a memorial you need to see!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank TravelNgal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Erie at night”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I rate this as one of the best memorials in Washington. Bigger that life size statues cast like soldiers walking trough a rice paddy are flanked by a polished granite wall with the names of the dead from the Korean war and faces etched into the wall. As one walks past the soldiers it seems as though the eyes of the soldiers follow you. Visit at night for an erie experience.

Helpful?
Thank pig_daddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Go at night.....its a little creepy!”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We visited at night after seeing the Lincoln Memorial. Seeing the 19 soldiers in the moonlight was a little creepy and made the visit that much better and perhaps more real!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank DLCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Korean War Veterans Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Korean War Veterans Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing