We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting to put faces to names in history” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Portrait Gallery

National Portrait Gallery
Book In Advance
More Info
$73.75*
and up
Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight...
Ranked #16 of 418 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Visitors can view the portraits of all the U.S. presidents.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Very interesting to put faces to names in history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Being a student of history it was very interesting to put faces with the famous names in our history. It was additionally interesting to see the artist's interpretation of and presentation of the face; revealing what they could of the subject's personality. RA

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bawesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,686
    557
    85
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Variety”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I went for the Presidents, but enjoyed the rest of the exhibits as well.
The pop culture/sports portraits could use a little updating, there didn't seem to be much from over the last 20 years.
An enjoyable afternoon and pairs well with the Smithsonian Art Gallery which shares the building.

Helpful?
Thank mc423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good visit with an unusual objective”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We went there early September 2012 at the end of a long day.
We went with a very specific objective ie to only look only at modern and contemporary art, not at all the American presidents and other important people of the past.
And what we found on the 3rd floor was beyond expectation: great works by Kline, Still, Motherwell, Warhol, Segal and others.
Also the conservation center at the 4rth floor is worth a stop.
Great Kogod courtyard to relax.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthmadog
Level Contributor
145 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Small free gallery open late”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We just popped in here after a quick supper. We could have spent more than the 45 minutes we had before it closed. We should have gone back but there was so much to see

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Snowdonia_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I could spend the day here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

I am obsessed with portraits and I could have stayed here all day. They let you take pictures and I loved photographing all the beautiful portraits.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank frogsandtigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Portrait Gallery also viewed

 

Been to National Portrait Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing