We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portraits and more”

National Portrait Gallery
Book In Advance
More Info
$73.75*
and up
Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight...
More Info
$108.99*
and up
Washington DC Wine-Tasting Tour by Pedicab
More Info
$60.00*
and up
DC Tour with Wine on a Rickshaw
Ranked #16 of 444 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Visitors can view the portraits of all the U.S. presidents.
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Portraits and more”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

The first I visited this museum, I spend several hours just in the one wing viewing the early portraits. Returned again to view the Presidents portraits again. Changing exhibits keeps the museum interesting a good place to visit for a few hours at the end of a day of sightseeing since it is open until 7pm most nights.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank RestedSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,785
    593
    89
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“My favorite DC Museum”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I'm a local, and this is my favorite DC museum. It's massive and has something for everyone- from Presidential portraits, to interesting new exhibits all the time (recently they had a Normal Rockwell exhibit), to great portraits of everyday Americans. It is more geared towards adults than kids, I don't recommend it for any kids under ten.

They also have a beautiful courtyard with a covered ceiling which is a fun place to sit for awhile, and they often have free concerts there.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank 955jessican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“My favorite Smithsonian Museum”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We enjoyed te intimacy of the smaller museum and smaller crowds. We also appreciated viewing many pieces of art that we have seen over the years from various media outlets. We enjoyed the hall of presidents. Itis located off the main mall over in the Penn Quarter/Chinatown neighborhood.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank kkline4970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass Lake, MN
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“I loved it!”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

It was really interesting. Protraits of all the presidents and their familes.

Visited November 2010
Helpful?
Thank fifigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
America
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Had a GREAT time and I'm not even an 'art' fan”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I'm not really into art all that much so I went to the Portrait Gallery almost as a joke.
I'm happy to report that I had a GREAT time. I stayed MUCH longer then I had ever dreamed of staying. (I stayed for hours) It was very informative and even I have to admit the potraits were kinda cool. I would happily go again. A must do for anybody.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank KingFlathead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Portrait Gallery also viewed

 

Been to National Portrait Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing