We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Informative” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC

Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.95*
and up
Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
Ranked #15 of 139 Tours in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Voted “Washington’s Best Tour” by Washingtonian Magazine, the Nation’s Capital comes alive aboard Old Town Trolley Tours. Live narration filled with humorous stories and well-researched historical facts will show guests all of Washington in three loops that cover Arlington National Cemetery, the National Mall, National Cathedral, Downtown, Georgetown and points in between. With 19 stops, guests can disembark for shopping, dining and attractions all day. Old Town Trolley Tours has a 100% money back guarantee.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super Informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We hopped on the bus with some reservations as they usually are a bit too touristy, but wow, what a pleasant surprise!! The bus drivers are super informative and very very funny. It's not just your average tourist bus. Not only they take you too all the attractions, the drivers provide you with a very details description of the attraction to help you to make the right choice. We absolutely loved it. Next time in DC, we will do it again for sure!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LXfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,494
    557
    213
    125
    121
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“They stand by their guarantee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I was unable to use day two of my prepaid e-ticket. I followed the directions for a refund and received credit the very next day.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank funtraveler0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Verde, Arizona
Level Contributor
161 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The only way to get around town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have used the Old Town Trolley Tours in other towns. They have never let us down. There drivers are always courteous and full of information. They really make the trip enjoyable. The added plus is that you can get on and off the Trolley at various locations. When you join back on the Trolley you can continue your journey and not miss a beat. Relax, sit back enjoy the ride and learn something - a great combination. You don't have to wait long if you decide to get off the Trolley - normally around 15 minutes.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nrenaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“fun time for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were signed up for the moonlight tour with 4 kids and 4 adults. You wait in line and a bus pulls up. We happen to get the big bus, I would've rather had the smaller trolley bus but the boys were so excited for the big bus so we went with it. Our tour guide Mr. King was awesome. He was humorous, knowledgeable and interesting all at the same time. He told us the history of monuments, memorials and buildings that I didn't even know about. He made up for the fact that we were on the big bus. Would totally take the tour again with the kids the next time we're in DC.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank candygirl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Enjoyed but could have been better without the plastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Took the Metro to Union Station. Busy busy place! Had trouble finding the booth for Olde Town (OT) as there were no signs pointing the way. We asked a few people for help and finally found it. Coming off the Metro it would have been nice to have some signage showing the way to the booth.
The tour cost 39.00 each and was from 7:30pm to 10pm. This was not the daytime jump on jump off tour. If you didn't make it back to the bus on any of the 3 stops they could leave you behind. Although each time we were back on the bus they counted us and made sure no one was left behind.
The trolley we were on was one of the open-air ones but with the colder temps last week they had all the plastic panels covering the windows. This plastic was very hard to see through. The bus driver/tourguide was one person and he was quite good but perhaps a 2 man operation would have been more productive.
He spoke at length about military history and I would have prefered a shorter version of many of these stories to make room for more non-military stories.
I will attach a few pics of the various monuments

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank IslaBonita2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing