We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Private Guided Tour of the Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The most popular of the Smithsonian museums features the Wright Brothers' 1903 Flyer and Lindbergh's Spirit of St. Louis.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Dingli, Malta
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Be prepared to do a lot of walking as this museum is really big, and if you are interested in Air and space you will be delighted, Just amazing what they have on show, from the very beginning of aviation till The landing on the moon and it goes further with the space shuttle and in to the future.
Also the movies they show in the imac theater are just great.
We enjoyed the entire day, as that is what you almost need, a day, as there is so much to see. For sure a museum not to be missed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Francis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17,398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12,128
    3,925
    1,140
    158
    47
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Do not miss!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Interesting, informative and fun! The simulator ride is worth the 8dollar price tag. We enjoyed this museum the most. We grab a quick lunch at the food court as we were starving, the quality was very poor and I certainly wouldn't recommend it unless you are really hungry.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
724 reviews
291 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 573 helpful votes
“Over-curated”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Before we came to DC, this was the top of my list to visit, mainly for the Wright Flyer and for the Apollo 11 command module. In the end, the command module was terribly disappointing as it is shrouded in thick plastic and this completely detaches you emotionally from the object.

The Wright Flyer is exceptionally well exhibited, however. You can see every detail and the plane is surrounded by outstanding information about the Wrights' aeronautical engineering. This and the objects donated by individual Astronauts from the Apollo programme stood out, but they were the only things we enjoyed in what was overall an over-curated museum.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank masaccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Sooooo much to see”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I was hesitant about bringing my 6 year old grandson here because I thought he would be bored but after reading horrible reviews of the local science museum and having already done the zoo and museum of natural history, I decided to give it a shot. He loved it so much we spent the entire afternoon and only left as the museum was closing. There was so much to see and there were numerous interactive exhibits. I will be going back by myself to take a more leisurely gander at the facility and catch an IMAX movie. Excellent!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DebbieHatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Surprisingly comprehensive”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I hadn't anticipated the extent of the history of aviation and space travel laid out in this space. Learnt about things like the V2 bombs, the smallness of space modules, and a whole range of information. Easy to pick and chose which area to concentrate on; great exhibit on Amelia Earheart.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank earnedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing