We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Private Guided Tour of the Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The most popular of the Smithsonian museums features the Wright Brothers' 1903 Flyer and Lindbergh's Spirit of St. Louis.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Ewing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“amazing!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I loved the museum, it has the most amazing collection of airplanes and the space section had huge exhibits of the man's journey to moon and what not. Very impressive to say the least. Lot of fun activities like IMAX theatre and stuff.. lot of things to see and learn. Took some good pics too. Highly recommended!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank NupurS40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17,108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11,931
    3,865
    1,114
    154
    44
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Dont miss”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very interesting place, again though would of liked to have read more history on what I was looking at instead of guess work

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CAMPO75C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“There are two locations - Make time to see both”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Capital - just one block away from the NASM and it was so convenient. We loved this museum for the size alone. To see full size planes, standing rockets and the lunar landing unit was amazing. Give yourself at least 3 hours for a really good tour.

We took a guided tour but found that the tour guide focused way to much on Kitty Hawk and The Spirit of St. Louis (60 of the 90 minute tour), which meant we had to rush through the space section. There were other areas that we did not even touch. One thing that I found very disappointing is that they did not have an audio tour that you could listen to. We have found that this is the most effective way of keep our kids engaged in museums. They are veteran museum goers (fine art, science & technology, children's museums) and love to take it all in. When you are short on time, it is always nice to get an audio tour which usually give you the 'must-see' or highlights tour of the museum.

The only draw back was we did not know that there were actually two locations for the NASM: one in DC and the other by Dulles Airport. That museum was not actually at the airport but 15 minutes away. Although there is a very reasonable shuttle that you can take for a mere .50 cents, it was still to far to visit. If it had been on site at the airport, we would have easily killed our hour and a half wait there.

Next time we will have to make sure to allot time for that part of the museum as it has some pretty impressive exhibits that necessitate an airplane hangar.

I definitely have to say, don't miss this museum it is like nothing that you have ever seen before.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AConferenceAttendee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“See space shuttle Discovery!!”
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

This museum is the second of two Air and Space Smithsonians. This one is outside Dulles Airport. It is free to get in (there is a parking fee.) There are some really great historic planes to see in here! There are also some other non air plane exhibits (space stuff etc) which are fun to look at! The Enola Gay, Space Shuttle Discovery and Concord are just 3 of the great things to see. You can also go up in a tower to see planes land and take off from the Airport. The only disappointment was the only food was "McDonalds" and the staff at that McD was rude.

Helpful?
Thank Octorafest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pdx
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“this place soars”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

if you have any interest in airplanes then this place can not be missed...it has an amazing collection of airplanes and space related objects and includes almost every airplane that changed the world

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank larrybanal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing