We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visiting Washington DC - first time”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of National Mall

National Mall
Book In Advance
More Info
$155.00*
and up
Small-Group Tour of the National Mall and the National Gallery of Art
Ranked #13 of 430 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Open area of gardens, fountains, trees and monuments stretching nearly two miles between the Capitol and the Lincoln Memorial.
Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Visiting Washington DC - first time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just spent 4 days in Washington DC -

What we liked: wonderful places, full of history, too much to see in just four days. The hop-on-hop-off bus (bought the 48 hours ticket on sale for $31) were money very well spent - we had the chance to see (at least) most of the central area of WDC. We loved the "so european" architecture in WDC, we loved Georgetown (I think the only part of the downtown that fully reminds you of North America, we enjoyed visiting many of the buildings we've seen only in the movies. We had to rush through museums, as there is so much to see, but maybe we'll have the chance sometime to get back through them slowly.

What we did not like: the grass in National Mall park - the biggest disappointment ever - I could not imagine US can have such an awful lack of maintenance for this wonderful place.
Also, we did not like that there is practically no place to eat (food - not crap!) within a convenient distance from the Mall - you have to go far and take time ( and time is precious there!)

Overall - a great experience - if you didn't do it yet - I strongly recommend it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dusoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,681
    1,156
    342
    97
    23
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
244 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“BEWARE of the parking---got a $400 ticket!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The National Mall is a fabulous experience and I believe everyone should go if possible to see our wonderful national treasures. That being said I will also say that parking is HORRID and not well signed. When we visited the meters were MALFUNCTIONING yet our vehicle was ticketed and towed to the other side of the street. We had VIDEO of my husband talking to two of the Public Works Officers with them stating that our vehicle and all the others on that side of the street "should not have been towed". We were told to appeal the ticket through the adjudication process and "we would not have to pay". We appealed and submitted our pictures and video of the malfunctioning meters. I don't even think they looked at the pics or video. They turned down the appeal and DOUBLED the fine from $200 to $400!!! My husband was so upset because this occurred on our 2nd day there that we left D.C. several days early and went to Baltimore and Delaware instead. Also, several of the Smithsonian Museums close early if they are booked for a "private event". This happened to us with 3 museums on 2 different days so we were unable to see everything we wanted to see which was extremely frustrating.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank momof3bluegrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"The best of the best!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Spent this past Labor Day weekend in DC and it was truly the best. You need a lot of time to really experience and soak in the Mall. Enjoyed hearing and listening to the National Symphony Orchestra on the lawn of the Capitol Building on Sunday night. Don't forget your comfortable walking shoes and clothes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 979Rosiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
2 reviews
“Great time in Nation's Capital”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The family and I spent a great week in Washington, D.C. last year. It was inspiring to walk along the National Mall and take in all of the memorials and the White house. We also were able to go to the top of the Monument, one of the last groups to do so before the earthquake. I highly recommend Washington D.C.as a vacation spot.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Moralhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“You can't skip this your first trip to D.C.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were there during the 50th anniversary of Dr. King's famous speech. There is a great energy there. Also a great place to let your children run off steam.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Acornart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to National Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing