We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must do”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of National Mall

National Mall
Book In Advance
More Info
$155.00*
and up
Small-Group Tour of the National Mall and the National Gallery of Art
Ranked #13 of 430 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Open area of gardens, fountains, trees and monuments stretching nearly two miles between the Capitol and the Lincoln Memorial.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Must do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

All the monuments and memorials are just amazing. I always, always, get chills when I am in Washington DC. Republican, Democrat, Liberal, Conservative...this is a part of our history and a learning experience for our children.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank doublecsmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,689
    1,156
    342
    97
    23
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
134 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Meaningful...For the love of the USA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

You have to come at least once in your lifetime if you love the United States. This place was projected and designed to admire the greatness of America and its heroes. Full of green areas, museums, monuments, memorials, etc...all in perfect harmony between nature and American history.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DamianPiedra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Visit Washington DC”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The National Mall is a huge open-area national park in downtown Washington, D.C, where you can visit the Lincoln Memorial, Second Wolrd War Memorial, The US Capitol, Martin Luther King jr. memorial a.s.o. It is a 60 acre park filled with history. Bikes are available for rent ( by day, hour) be avare of $100 deposit / bike, $$$ that you will get back in 5 days...( that is how long it took them to put back the warranty in my account) Segways are $70. Better have depends on because the porto-potties are far from wherever you are when you want to go. Parking not available unless you are very very lucky ( by the Potomac). HOT HOT HOT! No refreshments on site ( only at Lincoln memorial) I would not recommend it in the summer... Go there early May or late September. Have very comfy shoes! Have water with you. You need 3-4 days to see everything ( tons of very good museums, behind the White House). It is an amazing historic site! Eeverything seems to be close....but the walking distances are pretty long

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tavited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
205 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great Green Space at the Capital”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Many of DC's museums, monuments, and cultural buildings are in the mall area. Easily assessable by the Metro and well maintained. Plenty of green space to sit in the shade on a hot day and relax and reflect on all that you have seen. The kids loves running and playing, and we saw many people enjoying the area by Segway, bikes, and of course walking. Bring plenty of water and snacks as you will quickly become heat exhausted if visiting in the summer. There are though, vendors if you run out or forget. I would say that there needs to be more restrooms in the area. When little kids tell you they have to go, they mean NOW, and bathrooms are sparse in the area. We met a friendly squirrel in the area and had a great time sharing an apple. Lots of photo opportunities in the area and plenty of room to run, relax, play, and people watch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pietrosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
466 reviews
255 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Great Green Space In The Middle Of Our Capital”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

You really have to appreciate the National Mall, a nice strip of nature surrounded by the buildings, museums, and memorials that make our nation great. It's nice to have this spot where people can relax, play, and picnic in the middle of the city. I can't imagine hopping from museum to museum and memorial to memorial and enjoying it as much if it was in the context of a "regular" city layout, as opposed to this park-like atmosphere.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheSpeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to National Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing