We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With the Cherry Blossoms in Bloom, The Mall is Magical”
Review of National Mall

National Mall
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Small-Group National Mall Walking Tour in Washington DC
More Info
$155.00*
and up
Small-Group Tour of the National Mall and the National Gallery of Art
More Info
$135.00*
and up
Congressional Tour of US Capitol and Major Monuments via Mini Coach
Ranked #11 of 444 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Open area of gardens, fountains, trees and monuments stretching nearly two miles between the Capitol and the Lincoln Memorial.
Scarsdale, New York
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“With the Cherry Blossoms in Bloom, The Mall is Magical”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Last week I took a day off from work to spend a few hours exploring one of our nations most spectacular treasures. With the cherry blossoms in bloom, and on a perfect spring day, I wandered around our National Mall appreciating how fortunate we are to have such a lovely capital that is open to everyone. With the cherry blossoms bursting, more people were photographing them than the monuments! I had to be in Maryland for a weekend meeting, but I never realized that the springtime is when tens of thousands of people converge on Washington to photograph and explore springtime in our capital. I am already planning next year's trip to return again, it is absolutely a magical experience and one that should be treasured by every American.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arthur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,015
    1,238
    355
    98
    25
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Whats not to love?”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Its the national mall! You can walk up and down the entire thing in probably about 45 minutes, but with bikes to rent and so much to see along the way its easy to spend days walking block to block hopping in and out of museums. We spent the majority of our time here among the many museums and monuments - fantastic time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wes_VC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Day Trip by Itself”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The National Mall is a smorg-as-bord of stuff to do and see. It stretches from the Lincoln Memorial and Reflecting Pool to the US Capital with the WWII Memorial, Korean Memorial, Vietnam Memorial, etc.... in between. The Jefferson Memorial can be seen from the Mall but is not located directly within. Walking through the mall you will see tourist buses galore, snack stands, people playing frisbee or reading a book on the grass and bicylists. I visited on what happened to be the last day of the Cherry Blossom Festival and there were hoards of people on the Mall, particularly the Lincoln Memorial, Reflecting Pool and Tidal Basin area. So if you want to go when there are less people there, I would recommend avoiding the Cherry Blossom Festival time period. The WWII Memorial was open but did not have the pools filled with water (which was a bummer). The Washington Memorial is still under construction. If you continue your way down the Mall towards the Capital you will enter into the museum area. You could spend hours or days going through all of them. My advice is to definitely visit the National Mall - its free and is a great remembrance of our National History. Just make sure to plan your timing wisely depending on how much you want to deal with crowds and how much time you want to spend in the museums. The day I visited they closed at 5pm.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A Magical History Tour”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

By day or night this is a spectacular U.S. park and an unforgettable experience for visitors of all ages. The war memorials commemorating the brave men and women serving in World Wars I and II and the Korean and Vietnam wars are particularly moving. The Lincoln Memorial is among many highlights of this inviting expanse. The people themselves -- from all over the U.S. and all over the world -- add to the energy and spectacle. I walked the mall one day and on the next took a Segway tour. Both offered alternate views of an area that is truly never the same twice. This is a free attraction best enjoyed in warm, clear weather. On super hot, cold or rainy days you may wish to enjoy Smithsonian museums and other indoor exhibits. There are multiple spots where you can stretch out on the grass and enjoy a picnic or a brief rest before resuming your tour. Parking can be challenging. There are some two-hour meters on the surrounding streets but you may be better off taking the Metro to a nearby station to avoid the hassles of finding a spot and feeding the meter. Water and snacks may be purchased at concession stands or from mobile food carts around the park perimeter.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyndi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The heart of everything in DC”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

If you go to DC as a tourist and you DON'T end up on the national mall, you're doing something wrong! Its a one-stop shop (albeit a huge one) to nearly everything you want to see, from the Capitol building, the Washington Monument, the many Smithsonian museums, the Lincoln, WWII, Vietnam Veterans memorials....everything is on or near the mall! You can stand anywhere on it and face any direction and see the capital city in all its glory!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank jtate30512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Mall also viewed

 

Been to National Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing