We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge”
Review of National Mall

National Mall
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Small-Group National Mall Walking Tour in Washington DC
More Info
$155.00*
and up
Small-Group Tour of the National Mall and the National Gallery of Art
More Info
$84.00*
and up
National Mall Photo Safari by Circulator Bus
Ranked #11 of 444 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Open area of gardens, fountains, trees and monuments stretching nearly two miles between the Capitol and the Lincoln Memorial.
Fortaleza, CE
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Huge”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I walked around the National Mall on a Segway, and it is huge. Surrounded by museums and historic buildings is mandatory for any visitor to DC. The green areas are well groomed and preserved. From the Capitol to the Lincoln Memorial is a walk of about 2.14 miles. It is impossible to see everything in just one visit. Organize yourself and choose the attractions that most appeal to you.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andre Xenofonte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,014
    1,237
    355
    98
    25
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“From End to End”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

With the Capitol at one and and the White House at the other, it is easy to see why the National Mall is such a popular place. We enjoyed walking on the sandy paths and people watching. The directional maps placed along the way make it easy to pop into the museums and galleries of interest.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MegtheHealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
735 reviews
341 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“Lot's Of Walking”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

If one is in the mood to do alot of walking than this part of Washingto DC is worth doing. There is certainly alot of park space and different types of sites to check out along the way. Lot's of food carts placed along the roadway. Some tourist type of carts to sell you some t-shirts, etc.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank b0b55russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent walking”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Loved the leisurely walks we could take around the Mall and the way it flowed from one museum to the other. Excellent place to just chill out with a treat and take in the day

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mommaof5kiddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't get this confused with a shopping mall!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

All I can say is that I honestly thought it was a national shrine to shopping. I'm not joking.
The best way to describe the National Mall is lots of fields near the main museums and I honestly think that the best way to learn about the National Mall is to take a walking tour around it as you will learn so much more by going with a tour guide than relying on a book.
The memorable part for me was walking past the Vietnam Veterans Memorial and the World War II memorials. I don't know why but I seemed to soak up the history just by walking past there.
The Lincoln memorial at the West End of the National Mall was where we finished up with when we were on the walking tour and it was great. I can't remember the company's name though... Sorry but I'm sure if you just type walking tour Washington DC into Google you'll find something.
We just kind of walked around the National Mall one of the afternoons we were there and it was really relaxing just to kind of chill and relax after we had walked along way.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank GiuliaJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Mall also viewed

 

Been to National Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing