We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”

National Gallery of Art
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Renegade Group Tour of the National Gallery of Art
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the world's greatest art museums is comprised of two buildings: one holds paintings from the 13th through the 18th centuries and the other exhibits modern art.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Well worth a visit nice and cool in the building and lots to look at, staff very helpful if you needed it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JakiWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,941
    1,082
    177
    39
    19
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic Gallery for all ages”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was yet another gem that I would have passed over as it sounds boring....but wow! We spent about 2 1/2 hours there and did not see everything. There's paintings, sculptures and all sorts of genres; popular, classics, an awesome presidential portrait gallery and galleries of different topics/people, for example there was a room that chronicled the life of Amelia Earhart.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank vpoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Puget Sound
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worth a slow visit”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Don't try to rush through the National Gallery. Take your time and enjoy. The collection is good and the special exhibits always worth seeing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CathyLen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montana
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best kept secrets....”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Besides being the most extensive collections of famous artists I have ever seen, they currently have a double sided DaVinci on loan from Italy right now, the only in the U.S. and it is quite the piece.To see the actual brush strokes and expert detail he did is amazing and NO picture ever could ever show his actual mastery of work. A must see, for we as a country, own none.
You can literally spend all day here. They have a beautiful enclosed atrium with seating which is nice to spend a few moments in just to take in your experience.
The attendants in the galleries are very helpful in directing you to the periods you want to make sure you see the most.It can feel as though you can get lost very easily going to gallery after gallery turning corners and rooms but most are happy to talk with you and help. I can honestly say they have the nicest employees in Washington we dealt with.
The cafe located downstairs, just ask again how to get there, is a best kept secret in their advertising. You can get a whole large meal w/ chicken etc, fresh veggies and rice/ potato for the same price as a sandwich and drink everywhere else in Washington's museum cafe's. If we had found this earlier in our stay, we would have gone daily just for their meals of the day. Great bargain and oh so good! There is a sit down cafe/rest. with menu and wait staff for an ambient meal should you choose at the entrance and do not mind the higher prices.But we followed advice and staff recommendation and were very happy downstairs watching a beautiful waterfall while eating.
The gift shop is something to see, unlike any other we were at. It is honestly as big and tasteful as a department store with beautiful and unique pieces to take home or give as gifts. They carry everything you can think of from toys and soaps to fine glassware and some beautiful clothing & accessory pieces, yet not so expensive you wouldn't be willing to pay a little extra for something unusual with your favorite artist/artwork. They even ship if you do not want to gamble breakable items on the trip home.
I recommend visiting this place even if you are not a "educated" art lover. You will recognize so many famous works it is impossible to describe and to see them in person and see the strokes/colors up close and personal is why these artists are so highly regarded and famous, it is a total education in art appreciation. Van Gogh now my absolute favorite! Do not miss this experience. Not recommended for children's amusement.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank realist1Montana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Allow plenty of time for this attraction”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We did not allow enough time to tour the gallery so we are left needing a return visit. There are so many works to see. Words really cannot describe it. Even our 10-year old daughter was disappointed when we had to leave for another appointment.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kentuckywalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to National Gallery of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing