We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Gardens and Historic Building” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smithsonian Institution Building

Smithsonian Institution Building
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Washington DC Legend Daytime Comprehensive Tour
Ranked #34 of 418 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The world's largest museum and research complex is actually comprised of 19 museums and the National Zoo, with subjects that vary from African Art to the postal service, sculpture to space exploration.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
122 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens and Historic Building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

It is worth going to just to see and photograph the gardens, but the architecture is just as beautiful and also yearns to be photographed!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,319
    728
    244
    47
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It was OK- lots of empty areas”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

I had high hopes for this museum as I have visited almost all of them in DC. We try to visit a few museums with the kids each year and I was very excited about this. We went on MLK Holiday and surprising found parking near the museum.

Entering the museum you could see the the architecture of the building was just amazing. There were a few items on the main level and a staff member talked to our kids about one of the animals that her tribe would hunt. The kids enjoyed seeing, touching, feeling and listening to the story. That was mostly it for the main area and we found as we explored- the other areas were about the same. Some items out for show and that was about it. There was a lot of emplty areas, walls and space. We went to the kids area and there was a small corner for kids with games, crafts, books and a tipi. It was nice but we didn't spend a lot of time in there. We spent 2 hours and that was it- we saw everything.

The museum would be better if they had more artifactsto put out for visitors to see, read about etc. Not sure if we will be back anytime soon. We may come back if they have a dance/tribal performance.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MDfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Very helpful docent and yummy, warm soup on a rainy day. The castle building is beautiful. It is well located amongst the other smithsonian museums .

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sargan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

I can't even begin to describe how awesome the Smithsonian Institute is. Not just the information building but the entire thing. I absolutely loved the Natural History Museum and I would definitely go back. Just be sure to devote most if not all of your day to this one thing. Unfortunately I did not and missed a lot of great things, but if you can only do one or two I suggest the natural history museum and the air and space museum. Plus one of the best perks is they are ALL FREE!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank julianneaugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Air and Space Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We spent almost all day at the Air and Space Museum. Well laid out and the shows were brilliant. I think we saw all of the shows offered at the Planetarium and the Theatre. Having a MacDonalds inside the building was a bonus, as we could have a quick lunch and get on with viewing the attractions at the Museum.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Smithsonian Institution Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing