We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for B&B aficionados”

Carriage House on Capitol Hill
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carriage House on Capitol Hill
Ranked #28 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Spartanburg, South Carolina
1 review
“Great place to stay for B&B aficionados”
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Lovely accommodations in an architecturally interesting building. Pleasant historic neighborhood. Good access to Washington Metro subway system. Plan to stay there again in the near future. Somewhat steep stairs to reach the courtyard entry from the street may not be good for everyone. Otherwise, I would recommend highly to anyone who appreciates the B&B atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaa1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    13
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
15
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2010

This B & B has both a separate cottage, which is the historical building, and a new-but-looks-old house on the lot, giving guests both the historical feel of Capitol Hill and the modern bonus of a private bath and large closet in the room. The owners have the third floor, guest rooms on the second and public rooms on the first floor--a great kitchen/dining area and covered patio. Breakfast is serve yourself, allowing us to set our own schedule for sightseeing without having to meet a meal schedule. Yogurt, drinks, fruit and cookies always available, as is bottled water on the second floor. Laundry service is available, the rooms are attended to every day and the owners can recommend several great places to eat.
We will book again. There are, however, a couple of things to note--there is a very steep flight of steps from the sidewalk up to the property. Usually someone is around to help carry luggage, but getting up the steps could be a problem. The neighborhood is residential with old brick sidewalks with uneven patches and unexpected drops and hills, so watch your step while gazing at the gorgeous houses.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMLADY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2010

Although we had booked a week in advance, there was no record of our booking in the register, however the "yellow room" was available (as seen in the house promotion photo) the three hats were still exhibited in the room on top of an ancient chest. The bed had two mattresses so that a mini high jump was needed to go to sleep. The closet was partially full of clothes. the bathroom was small and did not have a walk-in shower. We only exchanged about 10 words withe the owners during a 4 day stay. The breakfast was totally self service and the food available was limited to cereals, bread and fruit, although there was a huge kitchen guests were not permitted to use the cooker.
As overseas visitors to the Capitol of the USA, we expected better than this, the hosts were reluctant to give us advice on travelling in Washington and we did not appreciate the attention of the cat and dog.
Why did we not leave earlier? As we had paid in advance with the booking, it would have been difficult to obtain a refund. Tthe location of the property was satisfactory with regard to visiting the main sites and the neighbourhood was freindly.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshire13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bnbaccomDC, Owner at Carriage House on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, June 17, 2010
It sure seems these guests did not enjoy their stay with us. This is truly unfortunate. Some of their observations however we feel warrant some clarification.

We note clearly on our website, and the reservation service we use informs every guest that we have both a dog and a cat. This should not be a surprise to any guest who stays with us. And yes, we prefer our pets are friendly—what would be the point of an unfriendly dog or cat?
Yes, the hats are part of our décor for the room, and they are on top of an antique chest, just as you enter the room. It is not the chest of drawers for guest use, but again part of the décor. Surprisingly, this is our most requested room—high bed and all. We have never had a complaint on the bed height- it is a high bed, but we will start asking guests specifically if it is a concern. We have 4 guest rooms, all with private bath. 3 have a walk in shower, one with a traditional tub and shower combination. They are all the same size. The closet for this room is however a double sized, and did have 4 suits of my husband’s hanging, we have removed them.

It is true, we have a large kitchen. I love my kitchen! The fact that guests cannot cook in the kitchen is however governed by many people besides me. Washington strictly prohibits guest use of the kitchen by the board of health, fire department and our business license. This is also strictly prohibited by our insurance company. These are not rules we have any control over. We also state clearly that we only serve a continental breakfast each morning this should not have been a surprise to these guests.

It is true we did not see these guests often. Honestly, it is not that unusual for us to see little of our guests beyond check in and breakfast time—many spend most of their time out and about in the city. This particular week however, our son was graduating high school and our daughter was getting married, we were busy, but hardly unavailable. We did provide transportation information, specifically about the subway, a 5 minute walk from the house, and the line that travels right though the National Mall/Smithsonian area of the city. They were insistent on using the buses, much more complicated, and much more specific to their actual destination. We did provide them with the Metro system website, which provides a trip planner guide specific to your starting place and destination. This system provides timetables, fare’s and exact routes, much better than our knowledge.

We are sorry these guests did not enjoy our home as we would have hoped, and will look objectively at any concerns we can change.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2010

Stayed in the 1870's Coach House private townhouse with family of 4. Owners were accommodating and friendly. Left very helpful written directions and suggestions in the house for us. Parked for free on the street. Tween-age boys enjoyed Garfield Park right across the street. Loved the charming style and decor of the house and the neighborhood surrounding. Restaurants within walking distance. Short drive to Harris Teeter grocery store (full kitchen in the house). Great location - 10 min. walk to choice of 2 Metro stops, or walk right to Capitol and Library of Congress within 10-15 mins. Would definitely stay here again!
Note: There are steep steps from the street up to the house.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LocalisGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2009

Our room was charming and well cared for. The breakfast was generous and we enjoyed the fact that it was all laid out in the kitchen so guests could just help themselves at their own leisure. Diane and Mark are wonderful and helpful hosts. The location is perfect for seeing the government buildings and monuments. It is a nice walk to The Capitol. The subway is also nearby. We came from NYC on the train and we were able to walk to and from Union Station to the Carriage House. This is truly a well run and lovely Bed and Breakfast and we have already recommended it to some friends.
(Just one more thing........we also really really loved the sweet dog!)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floddertje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Great location to visit DC. Left our car parked (free) and walked from there. Quiet and safe. Very flexible for coming and going.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank loukiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, Ca
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

My husband and I had a wonderful experience at the Carriage House and would definitely book again.

We arrived earlier than normal check in hours because of the train schedule from NYC. The owner was there to meet us and let us check into our room early. There is a number access code on the front door so we could come and go as we pleased. In that sense it was similar to staying in a hotel since you didn't have to worry about waking anyone up. The house is filled with charming antiques. Breakfast was pretty standard, self serve fare (muffins, cereal, toast, fruit, yogurt, coffee, tea and juice) and the paper which we leisurely enjoyed in a large sun lit room. Other great features are the location to the Capitol (6 blocks), a safe, historic and friendly neighborhood (across the street from a park which we sat in one sultry DC evening).

I would definitely recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAGardenGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Residence Inn Washington Capitol...
#119 of 141 in Washington DC
27 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,435 reviews
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington ...
#74 of 141 in Washington DC
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
192 reviews
Capitol Hill
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#16 of 35 in Washington DC
10 reviews
Capitol Hill
Brumidi B & B
Brumidi B & B
#23 of 35 in Washington DC
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House on Capitol Hill

Property: Carriage House on Capitol Hill
Address: 612 3rd St SE, at South Carolina Avenue Southeast, Garfield Park, Washington DC, DC 20003-1934
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Capitol Hill
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to the Smithsonian Museums, Library of Congress, U.S. Capitol, or the White House. We are 4 blocks from the Capitol South Metro station and steps from the Congressional offices. This comfortable private home B&B offers 4 rooms, each with queen bed and private bath, or a 2 bedroom, private entrance suite with living room and 1.5 baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carriage House On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing