We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get your quackers out!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of D.C. Ducks

D.C. Ducks
Book In Advance
More Info
$42.00*
and up
Washington DC Duck Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Make a splash in our Nation’s Capital aboard the DC Ducks, 1942 amphibious transport vehicles used to support and carry troops during World War II. Today they are a great way to see Washington by both land and sea. Winding our way first through the monuments, the Mall, the Capitol and museums of the Smithsonian before splashing into the Potomac and under the flight path at Reagan National Airport. Its fun for all ages!
Henderson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Get your quackers out!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We went as a couple to get a different perspective of the DC area. It was great to drive into the Potomac and tour in a unique way. I think it is something that children would enjoy a lot especially when the guide gets the quackers out. The young-ens seemed to have a blast working those things but as an adult I could have got along fine without them. The tour ,approx 90 mins. long, leaves from Union Station and returns there. The guide was very pleasant, knowledgeable and entertaining. Adults need to be aware that during part of the trip it will get noisy but you can enjoy seeing how much fun the children are having. I would recommend doing this for something different.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadKing8084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    103
    27
    13
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moneta, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
165 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Riding the Sitting Duck”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

What a great way to tour DC with kids...who else drives their vehicle in the Potomac?? The Captain was knowledgable and interesting...much better than pre- recorded!! And the duck whistles were fun...and loud!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Becky15-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
648 reviews
389 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“The kids loved it, too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I took my 3 grandkids to D.C. at the end of school summer. They are ages 10, 8 & 8. They just loved this tour. They were given quackers (whistles) at the end and drove everyone nuts but had a super time.

Idled in the water for awhile directly under the flight path of jets landing at the airport and that was a thrill for all of us.
I suggest this tour and it leaves at Union Station which is easy to get to.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thesteevesgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rising Sun
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Ducky Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I took my two granddaughters, ages 9 and 10 on the Duck Tour of Washington, DC. Although some of the commentary was a little above their interest level, as soon as we hit the water and received our "quackers," that all changed! Our guide was pleasant, humorous and knew his material. I would recommend this tour for something different, especially for children. The ride on the Potomac was wonderful and it was a great way to see DC from a different viewpoint.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank reindeer367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant, Relaxing, and an Overview of DC Landmarks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a good way to introduce yourself to DC. You will have a better idea on where you may want to go to after knowing what DC has to offer through the Duck Tour. If you've never been on a DT then kids will enjoy the boat ride more than the drive. The captain lets the little ones steer the boat when on water which was cool for lots of kids.
However, this is not a tour to get off and take pictures. You will always be inside the vehicle so there won't be any up front shots in front the landmark you wanna have in your background.
If you don't know what DC has to offer, take the Duck Tour- it will definitely give you a better idea.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to D.C. Ducks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing