We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Le Pain Quotidien

Le Pain Quotidien
Ranked #271 of 3,236 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We visited on a Saturday for lunch, and we each ordered a different salad. We all thoroughly enjoyed our selections: grilled chicken cobb salad, shrimp salad, and smoked salmon and roasted beet salad. The food was fresh, organically grown, and extremely flavorful. Two kinds of bread were served with the salads. Gluten-free options were also available. The service was incredibly prompt. For dessert we split a Belgian brownie and had a cappuccino. The atmosphere was a casual cafe. A highly recommended stop for lunch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teri99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    141
    54
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Acceptable but unimpressive”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We dropped in late at Le Pain Quotidien in Georgetown and were unimpressed. The Chai was very weak and the cheesecake average. We have liked Le Pain Quotidien in the past, so perhaps we hit an off night.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank edojidai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Le Pain Quotidien - Georgetown”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Le Pain Quotidien - in the heart of Georgetown on M Street - is one of the better ones in the DC area. The food is usually pretty good (although a bit pricey), and I've found that the service is usually friendlier and faster than the Dupont location.

Le PQ is a good spot for breakfast/brunch (make sure you ask for a bread basket w/ Hazelnut spread and jam). The hot chocolate is also very good, as are the lunch tartines (open-faced sandwiches), organic soups, and salads.

My favorite time to go to this Le Pain Q is mid-afternoon when it's quiet and I can enjoy tea/coffee and a light snack while reading the newspaper.

Tip: If you're on your own or are with a small party and don't want to wait for a table, take a seat at the communal table. Great concept, especially for DC where people aren't overly friendly and tend to stick to themselves.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lolaz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Extremely slow service”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The service is painfully slow but the food is good. I stopped by at 7:55 and was brusquely informed tht they didn't ope until 8:00. Ok, but a friendly place would have just sold me my muffin and been happy for the business.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful for a small bite.”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We frequent the one in our neighborhood for breakfast, snack and lunches. I love the atmosphere, the waitstaff and the hot drinks. The breads are delicious and so fresh. I am never stuffed when I leave.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank arlettejassel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pain Quotidien also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Le Pain Quotidien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing