We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live Tanks”

New Big Wong Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #970 of 3,236 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Walnut, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Live Tanks”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

If your are looking for a traditional no frills Chinese meal in D. C. , this is the place. I personally enjoyed the Lobster Cantonese which I chose from one of two small tanks. Again, this is not a fine dining experience. The price is fair and they are happy to cook it exactly how you want it! That is of course provided you can get them to understand you. Good Luck, Have fun, Enjoy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    91
    35
    13
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fast service , reasonable prices , but average at best food”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Went for dinner over Easter weekend . Short wait time , shared large table with another couple.
Ordered pork steam dumplings, tasty filling but the dumpling itself was way to thick! 2nd was the hot & sour soup, small flakes of hot red pepper made this a dish not to remember. Main course was pork with snow peas which was preety tasty and the best dish of the meal. Food is fairly priced, portions large and llocation close to Hampton Inn and subway station.
I agree with other who mention the enlarged copy of a Washington post review drew us to the place , however Im sure there is much better Chinesse food in DC

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jdatwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Oiliest fried rice/ demanded big tip”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We came across this restaurant in DC china town area. We decided to have a go bec of the washington post review posted outside the resto. I am an asian so i know asian food very well. We were served the most oily fried rice in my lifetime. So much oil in it even with the chicken n pork we ordered!!!Worst, they demanded $9 tip to a $54 total bill!!
Horrible experience!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Family Restaurant”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

While staying in Chinatown we wanted a good Chinese dinner. We found it here! Great prices, big portions, fast service. Its a small restaurant and we're glad we got there early. The line was out the door waiting for a table. Everyone's meals at the tables around us looked great too. A little hole in the wall with great food!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank trvlcrzy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Massachusetts, USA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Ordered a delivery. Sizzling black pepper beef is very juicy and tender. Lo mein is good too. Overall, a quite decent chinese restaurant, not those cheap takeouts.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank charlesriver_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Big Wong Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to New Big Wong Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing