We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best chicken”
Review of Nando's

Nando's
Ranked #158 of 3,261 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“The best chicken”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Had two dinners here it was so good. Fell in love with this place in South Africa and go wherever we can find one! The chicken is fresh and perfectly grilled. This location offers a slew of peri-peri sauces at different levels of heat - you can try as many as you want. They also have those awesome Coke machines where you can pick your soda and then add flavors like cherry, vanilla, etc. And its all you can drink - dangerous for the calorie count! We had a 20 minute wait for dinner. You stand in line to order, then they give you a table number, you sit, and someone brings you the food. They'll take care of any follow-up drink and dessert orders from your table.
Sangria was the only disappointment - watered down and pretty tasteless.
You can buy a bottle of peri-peri sauce to bring home!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelCuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    179
    56
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A great surprise!!!!!!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

A late night flight made us look for a restaurant near our hotel at 11PM in a thunder storm. The six of us started out each with an umbrella looking for a place to eat since we were starved. We headed for Burtuchis but when we got there it had closed. Across the street was Empanatas but that didn't work out so we went across the street, soaken wet and entered Nando's. what a surprise. The chicken was tender and we were so hungry we didn't even mind the spiciness of the meal. The price was extremely reasonable and six of us ate for $50. The food is African and Portuguese. We will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rohrshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great for a quick bite”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Casual inexpensive tasty grilled chicken in various degrees of hotness. You choose how it's made and you can add hot sauce in addition. Garlic bread is good too. You order at the counter and the food is brought up to you.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank L L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place for spicy food lovers!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Chicken lovers and spicy food lovers this is your place for healthy food options. Nice atmosphere for family dining. However the milder spicy chicken may still be a little too spicy for the little ones. My 4 year old did not complain but I was surprised. Great food and experience. Friendly staff for a self serve dining experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flowersinthespring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ok Chicken, Excellent Hot Sauce”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you like spicy food, go here. The chicken may be a bit overpriced and a tad dry, but the ambiance and side dishes make up for these shortcomings. The real star here is the variety of hot sauces available to put on your chicken. I tried the Hot and Extra Hot at first, and although spicy, was not blowing my head off. I added some of the Extra Extra Hot from the scary looking black bottles, and that was enough to push it into the extreme flavor category.

Overall, I'd go again for the spice.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Buster_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nando's also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Nando's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing