We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great walk with my dog!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tidal Basin

Tidal Basin
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Cherry Blossom Photo Safari at Tidal Basin
Ranked #31 of 418 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Springtime in Washington means the explosion of white-pink clouds of cherry blossoms around the Tidal Basin.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
145 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great walk with my dog!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

This was the best walk that I did with my Shiba Inu while in Washington. I didn't realize until we got back to our hotel just how long this "stroll" was - and my 9-year old girl was just taking it all in.

The Tidal Basin is one of the prettiest walks you can ever do especially during cherry blossoms time. I was amazed at how serene it was despite the presidential helicopters hovering above seemingly doing exercises. Leisurely walking on the water's edge past the boat house and the Jefferson Memorial (dogs aren't welcome) and all the way around to the FDR Memorial and MLK (another memorial that doesn't allow dogs) was nice and relaxing while taking in all the sights. I had no idea that there's a wonderful Eleanor Roosevelt Memorial either until we walked past it.

There are many benches in the shade to take breaks along the way. The Tidal Basin was truly a pleasant surprise on this last visit to Washington...and Foxxy and I will definitely be back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    325
    65
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two monuments In one easy stroll”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

First stop on this long-time resident's favorite things to do in Washington - a Sunday sunset stroll around the cherry tree-lined Tidal Basin. In a circular circuit, you'll pass the Jefferson Memorial (take a selfie on the steps or go inside for a quick visit). Continue walking along one of several paved pathways until you reach the Roosevelt memorial. There's so much or read and see in sections devoted to each of his terms, as well as a lovely granite waterfall (no wading, and no coin tossing). Make your way back and you will have walked a little over two miles. Parking is easy early evening on weekends. I It's a beautiful stroll, it's great exercise and it's free. Tip: far less congested, more serene and just as beautiful before or after the Cherry Blossom Festival madness.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JulyBHAir54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pretty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We walked around the whole entire tidal basin on our visit in Sept/Oct. 2013. It is quite a long walk but it is very beautiful and peaceful!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelz225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2,740 reviews
1,446 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,455 helpful votes
“Beautiful especially during cherry blossom festival”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

The tidal braising is a great dc landmark. I recommend walking along side it to the Jefferson memorial (the most beautiful memorial in my opinion).
Tip: you can take great photos of the Washington monument from the northern edge of the basin.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Carrollton, Maryland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Paddle Boats”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

I have lived around DC for almost five years now and I had always wanted to do the paddle boats on the tidal basin. I finally got around to it a couple weekends ago.

We rented a 4 person boat ($22 for an hour). The boat consisted on myself, my wife, my son (2 years) and my Mother-in-Law. It was fairly enjoyable. I am around 6'2", and the boats seem like they are made for people who are much shorter. it was very hard to paddle because it felt like my knees were in my chest. My wife is 5"9' and she had the same complaint. My son was able to sit between us and "steer" and my MIL was in the back, where she belonged.

About 1/2 hour in I stopped paddling and realized whey it was so hard. My wife was not paddling at all, she was merely placing her feet on the peddles and letting me do all of the work. All in all it was an enjoyable experience, you get unique views of the Jefferson Memorial and you feel like you are getting a work-out. I've never been (nor would I want to) on the paddle boats during the Cherry Blossom Festival, but I can imagine that the view would be quite beautiful, if you can see through the thousands of people.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EthanfromMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tidal Basin also viewed

 

Been to Tidal Basin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing