We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try to go for the Cherry Blossom”
Review of Tidal Basin

Tidal Basin
Book In Advance
More Info
$400.00*
and up
Customized Private Sightseeing Tour of DC
More Info
$56.00*
and up
Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Electric Cart Tour
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Washington DC Sites at Night Bike Tour
Ranked #33 of 447 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Springtime in Washington means the explosion of white-pink clouds of cherry blossoms around the Tidal Basin.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Try to go for the Cherry Blossom”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were lucky enough to be here at the same time the Cherry Blossom flowered, what a beautiful sight. The Tidal Basin is such a beautiful place to see so many of the wonderful Washington monuments.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rav4England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    807
    367
    73
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful on a sunny day”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

For $12 it is worth trying the paddle boats to actually travel around the basin itself, Your legs and butt will be numb but it was well worth it

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A truly amazing view of an amazing city. A handful of monuments and memorials are seen from the basin and the magnificent Washington monument towers above you. I truly hope to return when the cherry blossoms bloom to get a real sense of the beauty at its finest.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very nice day or night”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We circled the basin on foot with DC By Foot walk tours during the day and by rental bicycle by night. Viewing the Jefferson Memorial or MLKJr. Memorial across the water depending where you're standing is incredible. Lined with the famous cherry trees, it must be breathtaking when they're in bloom for that 10 day span each year. We saw ducks, geese, and a heron too. No swimming though! There's a big fine if you do!!! ;)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeff_and_kayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful place to stroll”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

After many trips to DC and missing the Jefferson each time, in March our goal was to get to this memorial!

We had a beautiful walk all along the Tidal Basin. Although we were a bit too early for the cherry blossoms, we had seen them the previous year so this time used our imagination.

You can rent small boats--pedal craft--on the water, but we preferred the walk. It is an easy stroll and so worthwhile to see the Jefferson. Don't wait for several trips to get there!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MurryG08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tidal Basin also viewed

 

Been to Tidal Basin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing