We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pulls the monuments together” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tidal Basin

Tidal Basin
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Cherry Blossom Photo Safari at Tidal Basin
Ranked #31 of 418 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Springtime in Washington means the explosion of white-pink clouds of cherry blossoms around the Tidal Basin.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Pulls the monuments together”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Visit early in the day during cherry blossom time.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank boybanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    325
    65
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Prudenville, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“See it during the Cherry Blossom festival in early spring”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Despite the crowds of people, a stroll along the banks of the Tidal Basin during the first few weeks of spring are well worth the view. The Japanese Cherry trees bloom from white to pink before the bright pedals fall away. For the rest of the spring and summer, they are just pretty green trees.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“100th Cherry Blossom Festival”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

I was in DC during the Cherry Blossom festival. The blossoms were absolutely beautiful in the sunshine around the tidal basin. Taking pictures of the trees and the Jefferson Memorial are stunning! The city puts on a lovely festival where there are tents in this area to buy gifts and get a few free items. This year was the 100th year of the festival which made it even better than before. If you are planning a visit, this is a beautiful time to see the basin!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank CindiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful day on the basin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Ride the paddle boats, great scenery. The cherry blossoms are beautiful this time of year, take a nice stroll along the tidal basin.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, VA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cherry Blossom-icious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We have promenaded around the Tidal Basin in Cherry Blossom season many a time. Last year was interesting because we went at night. You want privacy, you got it. Only you'll need a flashlight. I was actually surprised to find, that in this great capital of this great nation in which the Cherry Blossoms are a major attraction, there is not a single light. I would have settled for at least a few strategically placed uplights into the branches, but I foolishly had thought the entire walkway would be lit...at least during peak season! Nada. But it was still kind of cool. This year, we did a very smart thing. We went at total peak (though it is arguably prettier to see some buds, too) on a weekday at 6 am. We were parked (Hains Point) and promenading with a very light crowd, sun just rising, by 7 am. Mostly photographers and a local news crew, which was cool. Hadn't seen my local news anchors up close and personal before. Oh, you want to hear about the blossoms? Nahh. You just have to see them and scoop up handfuls from the ground and throw them in your daughter's hair. They are gorgeous, and the backdrop of the TJ Memorial, the Monument, the Capitol, is surreal. Yes, you can see cherry blossoms at home. You go to DC for the experience, to be a part of an event, and for the sheer loveliness of DC in the spring. (There's also an impressive tulip "library" alongside the walkway.) Returned home by 10 am. All day long, I heard news reports on the traffic jams around the tidal basin. Pinched myself for being smart and, for once, going at an ideal time!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank fr0mVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tidal Basin also viewed

 

Been to Tidal Basin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing