We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for everyone”

Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Taste of DC Segway Tour
More Info
$64.00*
and up
Morning Monuments Tour of Washington DC
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Arlington Cemetery and National Mall Monuments Bus Tour
Ranked #13 of 447 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Established in 1910 and located on the National Mall, this prestigious museum, part of the Smithsonian Institution, holds the world's most extensive collection of natural history specimens and human artifacts including the remains of dinosaurs and tools used by early man.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place for everyone”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Our family enjoyed all the exhibits and the food court was terrific with great choices of food. The shop downstairs had a huge array of items and the sellers were very helpful. We especially enjoyed the GEM exhibit. We went there first in the morning so it wasn't crowded yet.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Joogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,159
    2,284
    719
    133
    35
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Go on a weekday to avoid the crowd”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

There was so much to see here we didn't get it done in the afternoon we had planned. We went back on a Saturday to finish up and the museum was packed! I recommend planning your off-the-mall activities for the weekend and not this museum.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ColoMama33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place to go with the kids!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

What an amazing place...very easy to get to and the kids just kept looking at everything. Very hands-on and good explanations of things. Lots of animals to look at and the dinosaur exhibit was a highlight!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lilmishabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Not as good as it's NY counterpart”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I was very disappointed here. None of the exhibits were particularly engaging and as others have said the hope diamond is the main draw here. Our visit was made less bearable by the huge number of teenage tour groups visiting which made it difficult to navigate and see anything. I know this place is free entry and they have as much right to be there as us but they really need to have designated meeting points. The central rotunda should not be it as you have to fight your way through them to get between halls and it's pure disorganised chaos!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hannikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Massive place, budget your time appropriately”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

First museum I ever considered that walkie-talkies would be useful in (lucky for cell phones, eh?). It's simply massive, and open floor in design, so even though you could be 10 feet from another family member, you'd never see them. If you have sub-teenage children, I'd recommend holding onto them. We found it to be LOUD with parents screaming for small children and vice-versa. In fact, we did best when we simply set meeting time and locations. There's several great large landmarks you can set.

We ate at this one, which was atypical for us, and found the food to be good and the serving staff to be very friendly. Surprisingly friendly, in fact. Don't skip this, but plan out time to go.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing