We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredibly moving”

Vietnam Veterans Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Half-day Washington DC Sightseeing Tour by Coach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Emotionally stirring memorial pays tribute to the men and women who served in one of America's most controversial wars.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Incredibly moving”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is one of the most moving experiences I've ever had. We were there for Memorial Day weekend, and the crowds included many Vietnam vets. The endless names on the wall really hit you.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1776London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,293
    1,633
    394
    39
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Emotional”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

So many names on the wall, You can ge a piece of paper at the info booth near this memorial and use it to rub your loved ones name on it. A good opportunity to sit and reflect on the sacrifice these men gave for our country. It was emotional to me to see the emotions displayed by some of the Vets that were visiting the memorial.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jayco-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Must See”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

DC by foot offer some great tours and info on sites like the Vietnam Veterans Memorial.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank johnaallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A favorite place to visit in DC”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Most monuments are just that, monuments, but the Vietnam Veterans Memorial is exceptionally moving and meaningful. It was clearly well thought out and is extremely effective.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank CindyBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Moving as always”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I like how there's now a app that allows you to look up a name, or a town to searxh the exact locations on the wall. This has probably been around awhile, but I just discovered it on this trip.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank BellaO6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietnam Veterans Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Vietnam Veterans Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing