We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing library and make sure you take the tour”

Library of Congress
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.99*
and up
Private Washington DC Deluxe City Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Though the Library of Congress doesn't own every book ever published, it sure has most of them, with 532 miles of shelves and 115 million items, with 7,000 added each working day.
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing library and make sure you take the tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

The library building was so beautiful. But what really made it special was the tour. It give you the the blood and flesh to the beautiful structure you see.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank oztraveller67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,240
    1,219
    244
    32
    13
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Library of Congress is never mentioned as a must do when in DC...it is very under-rated. So glad we made time in our 3 day itinerary to visit here! The architecture is beautiful and everywhere you look, you can't help but to be in awe. Seeing Thomas Jeffersons personal library was a delight!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Try the lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

The library itself is interesting. I had a visit with a few senators and some foreign militray officers. We had a catered lunch in the Members Room/lounge and it was one of the most professional luneons that I can remember. If you can rent it, please do not miss the chance.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaceandMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The most beautiful building I visited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was amazed at the beauty of this building interior. I have been to Israel twice but the interior of this building was breath taking.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
239 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Maybe the most beautiful building in the US”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Library of Congress may just be the most beautiful building in the US. It's at least on the list of the top 5. If you haven't been there, stop by for a free tour...no reservation required. You will see a short movie followed by a docent-led tour of the stunning building. This is a real treat!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bauercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Library of Congress also viewed

 

Been to Library of Congress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing