We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs a visit”

Library of Congress
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.99*
and up
Private Washington DC Deluxe City Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Though the Library of Congress doesn't own every book ever published, it sure has most of them, with 532 miles of shelves and 115 million items, with 7,000 added each working day.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Needs a visit”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This building needs to be seen for its construction, and artistic ornamentation. The books and it's archive are somewhat secondary. We also saw the Bob Hope display... 10 min of light entertainment by a patriot!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Weedsatdenstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,230
    1,218
    244
    32
    13
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Large Library”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I poked my head in the here mostly to say that I've been there. I walked around the building and there's a lot here but I didn't get to explore as much as I wanted because there is so much. It's not like a typical library, but more like a research library like at a university. There are exhibits here. Don't think that you can just go pick up old classics here. You'll have to get special permission.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank notleo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaau, Hawaii
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"Chance"”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Lot's of interesting facts. It makes you realize what Congress goes through in getting laws in place. Made it to the House of Senate also. Trip is not for kids or babies in strollers. You HAVE to go through security everywhere you go! Not even water bottles allowed besides baby bottles. Be prepared to strip off your jackets and get a bag search

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“so disappointed”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

So disappointed we didn't get to go inside due to government shutdown. To come all the way from Australia and miss this and all the other key attractions in Washington DC was so upsetting. The tourists who came after Oct 17 don't know how lucky they are.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank carmel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“So much to see!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was the first place we visited on our trip over Labor Day. We viewed all of the historical documents that formed the foundation of the USA. Then there are many other sections to visit. You do need to have a ticket ahead of time which you can get on line for a timed visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank labs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Library of Congress also viewed

 

Been to Library of Congress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing