We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Library of Congress
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Taste of DC Segway Tour
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Private Washington DC Deluxe City Tour
More Info
$156.00*
and up
Private Moonlight DC City Tour by Van
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Though the Library of Congress doesn't own every book ever published, it sure has most of them, with 532 miles of shelves and 115 million items, with 7,000 added each working day.
Lincroft, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have been to Washington, DC many times, but visited the Library of Congress for the first time. What a beautiful building! We were especially impressed with the historic bibles and the Civil War exhibit. They have the contents of Lincoln's pockets the night he was shot on display.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyBobH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,544
    1,267
    260
    34
    13
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“I saw it in the movies”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I had been fascinated when I saw the Library of Congress in several movies. The dust from the stacks called to me. I wanted to smell the old books. The architecture is stunning inside and out. We took the tour and were shocked to learn that until a recent renovation the Library of Congress had not been opened to the public. You do have to apply to gain access to the actual research library and it takes some time to make this happen. Not something that can be done in single day. The free one hour tour though the Jefferson building is a great way to appreciate the history, architecture and mission of this phenomenal worldwide resource. We finished up our visit with some self-guided walking tour of the other exhibits.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top of my list”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We just spent two weeks in the US in Washington DC and NYC, packing in many attractions, events and foodie experiences but being a lover of knowledge and books the Library of Congress was my fave. It wasn't even on the list until my 13 year old suggested it and i am so glad we took the time. The architectural detail of the building was just amazing, such detail and so inspiring. Make sure you join one of the free tours - not too long and our guide was full of information. Just walking around you can't appreciate the thought and detail of the interior design, plus the history of how it all began. Gift shop is great for some unique souvenirs or gifts to take home.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gongmum66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,072 reviews
495 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,209 helpful votes
“Do Not Miss”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Library of Congress is hailed as the world's largest with over 29 million books and counting. Located in the sublime setting of Capital Hill has a baroque interior and contains some of the most valuable books in the world. The reading room is stunning and you can view from the top floor through a perspex viewing area. Not to be missed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AvidTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“All The books”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Interesting exhibits, gorgeous architecture, good gift shops. Don't forget there is more than one building.

Helpful?
Thank Denaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Library of Congress also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Library of Congress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing