We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Library of Congress
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Taste of DC Segway Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Though the Library of Congress doesn't own every book ever published, it sure has most of them, with 532 miles of shelves and 115 million items, with 7,000 added each working day.
Red Lion, Pa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I was excited to go to this library after seeing reviews. I was expecting it to look like a library but found it to be more like a museum. Thomas Jefferson's library was cool and the architecture was so awesome. The walls and floors were unbelievable. The main area was closed due to a tour and we w rushed out to my son not feeling well. I wish we would have taken a tour. I believe you need to be 18 and get a card to enter otherwise.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ffemtjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,444
    1,248
    255
    34
    13
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place to see history”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Located near the Capitol Building, this place epitomizes beauty in the architecture. Not only can you see the history of the books, but the history of the place itself is phenomenal. Each artist who took time to work here, left a personal mark of their work. The staircase is amazing.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Iluv2hike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
179 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The interior of the building is not to be believed!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I wasn't able to take the tour, but I really wish that I'd been able to spend more time here to do so. The tile and mosaic work on the floors and ceilings are incredible. And the exhibits that I did see were amazing. Plan on spending a few hours to stroll around. Not necessarily as interesting for small children though.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOLA, United States
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“More than you think”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Get the free guided tour. There is so much involved in this structure you really need someone to explain it to you. School age children would like this tour as well. The guides are very kid friendly.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

An amazing building in itself but also excellent exhibitions which teach you about history and importance of the library and its functions. Not boring at all as you might expect. Even children will keep entertained as there are many interesting learning tools.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank AUSnicoleUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Library of Congress also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Library of Congress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing