We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most beautiful building in DC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Library of Congress

Library of Congress
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.99*
and up
Private Washington DC Deluxe City Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Though the Library of Congress doesn't own every book ever published, it sure has most of them, with 532 miles of shelves and 115 million items, with 7,000 added each working day.
Haleyville, AL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Most beautiful building in DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

The architecture in this building is awesome! I believe they told us in the tour that we took, the building cost $3M to build long ago...I cannot imagine the price tag today. Painted ceilings, mosaic tile, statues and marble carvings...WOW!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank kevthomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,121
    1,201
    238
    31
    13
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“LOC - EMH”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

The LOC has great collections and a nice tour. It is close to the mall, but if you have limited time, this is probably not the first place to visit.

Helpful?
Thank AzEmh1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
83 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

If you like architecture like I do you will LOVE this building, also there are some very interesting displays inside and the gift shop had unique gifts. My son's girlfriend loves to read so he got her a bookmark from "Library of Congress", she was super excited! The building itself is something to see, Thomas Jefferson's library & the reading room are two highlights here. Well worth a stop in!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tapestrys30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Jefferson Building was lovely, worth the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We were due to visit the Capitol Building, and had time to spare before heading in there. The Library of Congress seemed to be the natural stop before the Capitol, given their proximity. Honestly, we had not researched the Library very much, and when the taxi driver asked us which of the three buildings we wanted to visit, we immediately felt a bit naive! We opted for the Jefferson Building, figuring it housed at least the library he donated to the National LIbrary when in burnt down in 1814. The building is incredibly beautiful, with gorgeous painted vaulted ceilings. While we didn't have time to wait to see the Library's reading room, we did get to see the recreation of Jefferson's donated library, and a few other exhibits installed there.

The Youth Reading Room is less impressive, as it's really a reading room (like local libraries) without a real perspective for kids, other than "reading is good". If your kids were really young, it might be a good respite from the more adult exhibits, but our kids (12 and 9) thought it a bit pedestrian. There were a few worksheets for kids to complete there (word searches, summer sudoku, coloring pages) but my kids were not interested in that.

The Jefferson building connects to the Capitol Building, so we could go from one to the other without having to leave the building. This was a MAJOR plus, given the heat (100F) and the road needed crossing. We easily made our appointment for the tour of the Capitol.

Overall, I would have liked more time in this building, but we didn't plan quite plan as well as we might have. If you have about 90 minutes, you could see nearly all that you might like to see!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolD448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“History for all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

never have I see such work of history that makes me proud to be human and part of the world's history

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Library of Congress also viewed

 

Been to Library of Congress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing