We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! My favorite place”

Library of Congress
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Taste of DC Segway Tour
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Private Washington DC Deluxe City Tour
More Info
$156.00*
and up
Private Moonlight DC City Tour by Van
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Though the Library of Congress doesn't own every book ever published, it sure has most of them, with 532 miles of shelves and 115 million items, with 7,000 added each working day.
Southern Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“WOW! My favorite place”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

It is quiet! It is restful! You can see some of the most remarkable collections of music, photography, books. It is not really touristy - I do not recall there being tours. But I love to come, sit, study. rest. and then head out to a local bistro for lunch.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank ESusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,637
    1,300
    265
    35
    13
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great interactive experience for kids too!”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

At first thought, you may think the Library of Congress may be only for older kids and adults. But both my kids, 12 and 7, enjoyed the exhibits in the Jefferson building,loved the architecture,and best of all, were absolutely enthralled with a state of art interactive computer based set of activities which they could use to find out more -- and more --- and more....

They can use the" digital passport" to continue their adventures online once they've gone home. Great way to have educational fun! The gift shop is also a treasure. High quality stuff - could spend a lot of $$ here!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler9904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Washington!”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

The Jefferson building is gorgeous and full of symbolism. Hours could be spent just exploring the architecture and decoration. And then there are the treasures - over 147 million items! Multiple exhibits always running and tours offered Mon-Sat.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sachchit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 803 helpful votes
“Library of Congress was a Great Read!”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We booked a tour of the Library of Congress ahead of time with our congressperson (just go to your congressperson's website--do a websearch for it--and click on "Visiting the DC Area." Fill out a form with your dates of visit and attractions you wish to tour. A staff person will e-mail you back with times and tickets for your events. We arrived at the LOC and found our names on a tour list. Anyone gets the same tour, but if the line is long on a busy day, it's great to already have a spot reserved for you.)

We started in the Young Readers' Room (which is actually 3 linked rooms). A number of children's books (somewhich are early copies of books not yet published) and comfy chairs awaited my bibliophiles. My younger son's happiest moments were the hour he spent sitting and reading!

Our tour started with a short video. A guide took us on an hour long tour, using earpieces for all of us to hear her speak in the midst of many tourists and other groups. We saw the Guttenberg Bible (first Bible printed on moveable printing press), the LOC reading room, and the main entryway. She gave very informative and witty insight into the history of the LOC, its architecture, and the establishment of the collection. It was a little long at points, but was interesting and informative and free. There was also several million dollar map, which was the first one ever to include the name "America." They had an interesting exhibit on a few artifacts from the time of Columbus. We also enjoyed the gift shop.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank CaryPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wow worth the visit”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

seen it on Tv and movies but so much better up close, good to get there early before the crowds. In deep winter the pond is frozen over.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank Heljayjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Library of Congress also viewed

 

Been to Library of Congress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing