We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shhhhh.”

Library of Congress
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Taste of DC Segway Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Though the Library of Congress doesn't own every book ever published, it sure has most of them, with 532 miles of shelves and 115 million items, with 7,000 added each working day.
Leicester - UK
Level Contributor
295 reviews
171 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Shhhhh.”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

A short step from the Capitol, connected by a tunnel, the Library of Congress has been seen in so many films that you have to take the short walk and see it at first hand.

The main atraction is, ofcourse, the reading room where accredited scholars can research in perfect silence. Its a litle disappointing that youmay not photograph the room and are behind glass looking down on it but the magnificence of the stonework and the sight of the room will live in my mind for a longtime.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_Bromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,000 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,448
    1,250
    255
    34
    13
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The hidden architectural gem in Washington D.C.”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I happened to visit this place as part of a business conference a while ago, with a dedicated guide assigned to our group. It was a very enjoyable experience, so I planned a trip with my family to show them the exquisite architecture of this very well maintained building. This is one of the few places that is not overcrowded, and relatively easier to find street parking nearby. My only suggestion would be to either ensure that the guides speak in a higher volume or provide them with a small loudspeaker so people around can listen to their commentary.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank mk_99_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

The L.O.C. is a BEAUTIFUL building (on the inside). There are a few exhibits that are fantastic. Thomas Jefferson's library is on display there. One of the Gutenberg Bibles is there, also. Viewing the actual "library" part is very impressive. They receive something like 20,000 items per day, and keep 10,000. I have no idea how this is possible...but it was impressive.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
113 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Disappointing tour”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Most all of the tours we took in DC and the surrounding area were very worthwhile, except this one. The person spent too much time talking about the architecture and we never did learn about the library. Also, he was so behind on time we fairly rushed through the view of the reading room.

This was the only tour where we wished that it would have ended well before the advertised length, but instead it was way longer than we could bear or should have been.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ILnaturetrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
139 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
“A MUST WHEN IN D.C.”
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I did not know much about the library until I got there. Although the building on the outside is beautiful, it seems to be overtaken by the Capital Building in front of it and the Supreme Court beside it. The inside of the building is what makes it worth seeing. The decorations and paintings are beautiful. There are also exhibits on Jefferson and the Civil War. The Gutenburg Bible and the Bible of Mainz are on display as well. You can also visit the reading room, but you have to make a reservation. I wish I had more time to spend at the library.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank globaltrekster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Library of Congress also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Library of Congress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing